Appetizers and Cold Quinoa & Shrimp Salad

July 23, 2009 at 12:03 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

We had James’ sister and her boyfriend over for dinner the other night for some delish Roasted Vegetable Sandwiches! I didn’t get pictures of our actual feast but I got some pictures of the apps and a cold Quinoa and shrimp salad I made.

I set out some different apps to start off with including Mediterranean Hummus from TJ’s which was awesome – I just love the texture of it!  They need to make industrial sized containers. 

IMG_3088

We also had some olives and peppahs that we got from the olive bar at the grocery store (way cheaper then buying them in jars). The other stuff is pretty easily indentifiable: celery, carrots, cucumbers pickles!

IMG_3089

No appetizer spread is complete without hummus and accompanying carbs

IMG_3091

I also made a cold shrimp quinoa salad. I have to say, James was VERY skeptical of me making this. He basically thought it was going to taste like crap and even said it wasn’t good when I first made it! But after it was on the table and our guests tried it and loved it he came around 😉

IMG_3094

  • Sauteed shrimp
  • 1 cup dry quinoa, prepared
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • small zucchini chopped
  • small tomato chopped
  • balsamic vinegar (maybe 1/8th c.?? Do it to taste)
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
    Mix it all together and set it in the fridge for the flavors to dance around with each other. I mixed everything together while the quinoa was still hot and I think that took away some of the crunch of the zucchini (in a good way!). I would definitely make this again! In fact I’m planning to make some on Sunday to take to lunch with me for the week (maybe minus the shrimpy to cut costs). Can you think of veg protein source that would go well in here?? Maybe some chick peas?

IMG_3093

And of course Toby was the life of the party

IMG_3101

What’s your favorite thing to make for dinner when guests come over?  The roasted veggie sandwiches were a HUGE hit! And so easy to put together! Perfect for a summer feast.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.