Quinoa Sushi + Vegan Artichoke Spinach Dip

September 19, 2009 at 8:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Heya all! I haven’t disappeared off the face of the earth quite yet…just muddling through all my reading and frantically trying to figure out what I’m supposed to be doing (briefing?! outling?! hornbooks?! commercial summaries?!?!?!) It’s confusing to say the least. I mean we don’t have exams until December and I can’t really wait until then to figure out the best way to prepare for my exams. Basically running around with my head cut off! But in a good way πŸ™‚ I love what I’m learning and I love the people and feel SO lucky I get to do this!

okay enough of that…

So my favorite recent creation has been quinoa sushi. You heard that right. I prepared the quinoa how I would prepare rice I would use for sushi (cook normally, then add more water while still cooking as well as some rice wine vinegar. The extra water makes the rice sticky)

IMG_3384   

Then I spread the quinoa on a piece of nori and put some sliced raw zucchini, raw sliced carrot and tempeh in there and rolled it up. 

IMG_3385

Protein packed sushi without the hefty price tag (or the white rice!!)

IMG_3386

I’ve definitely made this a few times since then!!!

I also went to a potluck for my small section at school. I went back and forth over what I wanted to bring and finally decided on some kind of dip. Once I found Happy Herbivore’s spinach and artichoke dip recipe I was sold.

IMG_3387

It came out really good! I did add about a quarter cup of garlic hummus at the end to make it even creamier and more garlicky (always a good idea when hanging out with new people right?!)

IMG_3388

It was a huge hit! (Of course anything served with Stacy’s Pita Chips always are so I knew I’d be safe πŸ˜‰ ) And I’m sure no one would have guessed it was low fat and vegan. Thanks Happy Herbivore for another killer recipe!!

With lots of reading during my days, I keep things interesting by always changing location. I study at the school during the day then come home in the evenings and study in the apartment. I’ll start at the desk…move to the dining room table…then to the couch..sometimes the bed. Basically I’ve taken over. But on the weekends I need to get out of the house and I’ve found my spot.

There’s a little independent coffee shop near us with a nice Toby friendly patio and lots of shade.

IMG_3353

I get to set up my office and have a nice, refreshing, fruity iced tea

IMG_3355

Toby gets fixed up with a drink too πŸ˜‰ (please excuses the plastic bag attached to his leash)

IMG_3354

Good times.

 

On my Honor, I will try, to update the blog more regularly and not get sucked into the great abyss that is first year law school….

I will have some product reviews to do soon so get ready for that!!

I think it’s time for a sweat session break then it’s trying to finish up some work before James gets home at 8! He has tomorrow off!!!!!!!!!!!!! Which unfortunately means we go look for apartments for the 32923989328 time. No fun. Moving sucks.

But yay for getting to spend all day with him tomorrow!!!! Okay time to get Toby and hit the pavement! My ipod is updated with the latest This American Life and I’m ready to go.

 

Have a good one!

Where is your favorite place to study??

I love coffee shops but if I need to do some serious studying, the library is the best place for me.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wait, why are you going to look at apartments again? Did the one yesterday fall through? Tell me!
    My fave place to study is MY Starbucks or the 2nd floor of the bookstore at FIU (where the cafe is and there are always tables, unlike the library!).

  2. I’m totally with you– I love to study at coffee shops. Mainly because I love coffee and people watching, but this means I’m not always studying so the library’s the best place for me! =)

  3. I am seriously impressed. Your sushi looks so professional and delicious. I need to learn how to do that!

  4. Studying for me is always a coffee shop. I wish I could be focused enough to study somewhere more impressive, like a park, or in a canoe on a river. Happy to hear that law school is everything you were looking forward to. Steve just started too and does more reading than I did in undergrad as an English Lit major!

  5. Hi! I just came across your blog that I found linked in the comments from Caitlin’s HTP blog. Love your blog, especially the fact that your first post I read is for quinoa sushi!!! What a genius combo!
    Is there a way to subscribe to your blog (or get entries in my reader?) I can’t seem to find it…am I just missing something? Would love to follow your posts!

  6. sushi is a party in my mouth πŸ™‚ but quinoa sushi!? that sounds amazing.
    love the pictures!

  7. For a while now, I’ve been wanting to substitute quinoa for rice in sushi. I did a search to see if anyone had tried their hand at it…and hey! I ended up here. Great pictures. Now I have that image of quinoa sushi burning my mind incessantly until I make some. Thanks for the extra push.

    • Hey same thing happened to me! Thanx for the recipe!

  8. Quinoa sushi looks amazing!! What a brilliant idea, I have to remember to try this. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

