One Week Down…

September 5, 2009 at 4:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

 

Of course on my first day of law school, we had to do the obligatory “first day of school” pictures (which I’m told are always taken in front of the fridge. anyone?):

Strategically planned outfit:

IMG_3339

Yes I laid my outfit out the night before. And packed up my backpack. And lunch box. I was all set!

Preparing for the commute:

IMG_3344

I love that backpack! It’s a NorthFace Borealis and was DEFINITELY a splurge but absolutely worth it. It gives my back soo much support and it has a TON of room in it. Just as an example of the heaviness: when I put my backpack in the passenger side of my car, the buckle seat belt sign starts blinking. So basically my backpack is a small child.

This week has been a pretty exhausting blur (but also exciting!!!) so I’ve been putting together some fast dinners involving different variations of stir fries and putting them on top of romaine:

IMG_3347

This stir fry included

  • 1/2 c. prepared quinoa
  • 1 carrot cut into matchsticks
  • 1/3 c. chickpeas
  • 1 plum tomato, chopped
  • 3 mushrooms, chopped
  • glug of soy sauce
  • 1 T. Mu Shu sauce (loving this right now)
  • 2 tsp. creamy peanut butter
  • garlic salt

All of that added at the apropriate time (carrots first since they take the longest to cook etc.) to a olive oil sprayed pan and cooked until it was all perfecto. The amount of sauce may seem small but I find that a little goes a long way. I’m using the sauces for additional flavor, not for masking up the flavors. I’m loving cooked carrots right now too. Perfectly sweet.

Because of all the romaine I have chopped up this looks like a TON of food! I chopped up 3 different romaine heart middles. You know the part where the leaves get pretty small? I think that part tastes sweeter than the rest! I guess James doesn’t like them though because there were 3 in the fridge!

IMG_3348

 

All mixed up:

IMG_3350

I chopped up the romaine with a knife to give it more of a restaurant “chopped salad” feel. The little bit of peanut butter in this totally made the meal. SO delicious!! You seriously only need a little bit to get that nutty flavor distributed over everything.

When I have a salad for dinner, I like putting stir fried veggies on top. It makes it seem more substantial and is more satisfying for me than a cold salad. The addition of quinoa was also nice and helped to fill my carb craving!

On the agenda today is lots o reading. We went out to Big Boss Brewing  last night so I’m dragging today from going to sleep later then normal (I was the driver! But still tasted everyone’s beers. Very yum). They had just finished their Harvest Time beer which is their pumpkin brew for the fall! So excited for fall flavors!!

I’m getting a running bug with all these races starting to pop up! I really want to run one but don’t know if it’s too soon with my leg. I had promised myself before I wouldn’t race anything until the Chapel Hill 10 miler in April but maybe a 5k wouldn’t hurt…I do need to get new running shoes and one of those water bottles that hook onto your hand. Anyone know a site that has good deals for those bottles??

Okay Toby and I are off to a coffee shop for some reading for me and more sleeping for Toby. Hopefully a good cup of java is just what I need for a kick start today!

 

Happy Saturday! and happy 3 day weekend!! WOO!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am so glad to know that I’m not the only one who has 13 years worth of “1st day of school” pictures.. I totally hate when my mom makes me do it, then again – I’d miss it if she didn’t. 🙂

  2. Glad you survived the first week of law school!!! 🙂

  3. very cute “1st day of school pic” – i tried to get mike to smile for one – but that just didn’t happen 🙂

  4. Happy 1st day of law school! I just stumbled upon your blog, but I have been a legal secretary for 20 years – be nice to your support staff and they will do anything you want!

    Love the backpack too! 😀

  5. You looked adorable on your first day! My pictures were always taken in front of the front door 🙂

  6. Cute outfit! My first day pictures were always outside, by the driveway

  7. Good luck with school! You looked so cute. Great dinner. I love stir fry- such an awesome go to meal


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

