Roasted Veggie Sandwiches With a View

August 17, 2009 at 11:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

My sister has been in town with her boyfriend for the past week and we took it as an excuse (like we need one) to go to one of our fave places: Asheville!

Relaxing on the porch and enjoying the glorious mountain air:

IMG_3255

The trip was fantastic as usual. Lots of crazy weirdos around which makes us feel right at home! And my mom even heard about a J.Crew sample sale which we happily flocked to on Saturday. BOY was that an experience! Boxes and boxes of J.Crew clothes and dozens and dozens of women digging through them all! I did get a white wool winter coat for 15 dollars which made going through the mayehm worth it! Especially since James waited in the heinous line while I continued searching 🙂

After we had recovered from our hunt, the “kids” worked on making dinner (it seems whenever you go home, you’ll always be considered kids no matter how old you are! Which I’m completely fine with.)

Earlier that day we had gone to the North Asheville Tailgate Market and stocked up on plenty of local produce to make some killer roasted veggie sandwiches.

Per James’ request (and all of us happily agreeing) we had dinner outside on the lovely porch. One end looks into the woods and the other looks out onto downtown Asheville. Talk about killer ambiance.

IMG_3256

Oven roasted veggies: Yellow squash, zucchini, eggplant and red peppers

All of these were from the farmers market + from local farmers. Love it.

IMG_3257

 

Sweet potato fries seasoned with chili + cumin. (I should have put more seasoning on it! live and learn)

IMG_3258

Fresh peppers (and some vegan cheese in the background for my sister!)

IMG_3259

Country log bread from the tailgate. Mmm this bread was full of hearty grains and was soft and pillowy.  You could tell it was freshly baked!

IMG_3260

Dan’s infamous Guacamole! So good. Cilantro + lime are key.

IMG_3262

 Fresh Dill-icious goat cheese (really the name of it….though I do appreciate the corniness 🙂 ) also from the North Asheville Tailgate. SO good. SO creamy. Holy yum. These totally made the sandwich…and the cracker…and my spoon….

And the farmer that sold this had pictures of her goats all over her booth. You could tell she loved them and treated them well. Happy to support it! I heart local farmers.

IMG_3263

My plate  was full of all of the good stuff. On my sandwich I put some guacamole, goat cheese and all the roasted veggies I could stuff in there!

IMG_3264

Love roasted veggies!

IMG_3265

James wanted a picture with his awesome sandwich too. I love this guy!!

J & sandwich

(Got this photo off my sister’s blog! Oh and I’m wearing a pointy hat because we were celebrating my step dad’s bday early! It may or may not have had Elmo on it….)

And I made a quinoa salad for some protein packing action. This was quinoa, chopped zucchini, 1/2 a red onion, a can of black beans (rinsed) with a marinade of balsamic vinegar + lemon juice (to taste). First I put the zucchini, red onion and black beans in a bowl, then I dumped the hot quinoa over – that kind of cooked the zucchini + onion a bit. I think lemon juice + balsamic make a fantastic marinade with this combo of flavors. Love. And so easy. And a hit with omnivores and veggies alike!

IMG_3266

I have been wanting to try this seasonal Highland brew since I heard about it! Organic wheat beer?! From one of my fave breweries?!?! Yes please.

IMG_3261

Nice and refreshing! Just perfect for a summer dinner outside. I was one happy girl with this spread. But i was about to be made even happier…

IMG_3249

Yup. Those would be Vegan Tiramisu cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. With a chocolate covered almond on the top. Yes. These are as good as they look. Our step dad thought we had bought them until we told them they were homemade treat!

IMG_3253

Vanilla cupcakes with a kahlua + coffee mixture poured in the middle and some vegan cream cheese frosting that also had some coffee flavoring + cinnamon on top. Heaven. And there is still on in the fridge for me waiting to be devoured 😉

The ride back was uneventful.

IMG_3273

Toby didn’t understand personal space.

IMG_3272 

Dan ate a tiny burger.

I’m pooped! What a fun weekend! We got to do everything we wanted and then some. The weather there was GORGEOUS! It felt like fall. I got to do 2 runs while I was there and loved all the hills and revisiting my old running routes. I love the mountains! Can’t wait to go back.

Now it’s back to reality and trying to get all the lose ends tied up before law school. Eek! I have orientation next week and then the first day of classes is August 31st!  How did I get here?! When did I grow up??

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That first picture of you guys is great. I can never get Murphy to look into the camera like that.

  2. Those cupcakes look yum!

  3. What a fun weekend – looks like you guys had a great time! That first picture is definitely a “framer” 🙂

  4. It looks like a perfect vacation!

  5. wow – your spread of food looks incredible!

  6. OMG that looks amazing! Love the table with all the yummy local food.

  7. oh man, can I be the new adopted sister in your family? I’m a strawberry blonde, so be between you and Tob I’ll totally blend in! haha. That dinner spread is making me so hungry; I just love being in the mountains, it always makes me want to eat rustic!

    PS Great idea on spicing the fries, I will have to give my next batch a dash or two myself. Also, I couldn’t agree more about the guac, cilantro and lime juice are essential, as is garlic in my book! (or bowl) 😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

