Black Bean + Sweet Potato Croquettes

August 4, 2009 at 12:41 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Croquettes might be a stretch. These are more like mini bean burgers.

I used to love getting croquettes back in Miami. They had a creamy filling and a crispy outside and were definitely a favorite treat of mine. Actually any Cuban food is a favorite treat of mine. Too bad I have yet to find a good Cuban place outside of Miami. Sigh.

Moving on. Back to the black bean croquettes. These were a mixture of two recipes. One was this one from a favorite magazine, EatingWell. The other was from Caitlin

IMG_3208

I don’t really have many measurements because I was using up leftovers in the ol fridge. But here’s  what mine had in em

  • 1 small sweet potato sans skin, cooked
  • ~1/4 c. black beans, mashed
  • ~1/3 c. ff refried black beans
  • ~1/3 c. corn kernels
  • some chopped onion
  • 3 chopped up mushrooms
  • garlic powder
  • Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (aka best seasoning salt eva)
  • 3 T. salsa
  • 1.5 T whole flax, ground
  • sprinkle of panko bread crumbs, ground up with flax

I mixed everything together, minus the flax and panko bread crumbs. Then I rolled each of the balls in the flax + bread crumb mix and baked them on a greased cookie sheet at 425 * for 30 minutes.

I liked em! Next time I would make them bigger though. I used a tablespoon to scoop them out and thought it would be more fun to have a lot of balls (seriously I keep throwing myself into this) but I think the texture would be more croquet-ish if I had kept the balls bigger. I also wish I had seasoned the flax mix with some chili + cumin. Next time!

IMG_3209

Well at least we got through Monday, folks. I actually got into work early this morning so I was hoping I would be able to leave early. Not so much. About 20 minutes before I was supposed to leave I was handed a project that absolutelyhadtobedonetoday. Oh joy. So I ended up staying later then I normally do. Ah well! I’ll leave early tomorrow 😀 Which actually works out nicely because James has tomorrow off from trabajo!  See that silver lining folks? I like it. PLUS tomorrow is “Dime Cookie Tuesday” at Whole Foods in Cary.  Heard about that on twitter. See twitter IS important!

K James just got home. Time to go! Tata!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love beans as the main “protein” of a meal! So filling, and I dont feel sick to my stomach!

  2. nom
    nom
    nom
    there’s really not much else to say than that.

  3. Yum!

    I will see you a week from today! I’m bringing Vegan with a Vengeance so we can cook . . .maybe the cupcake book too!

  4. Yum!!!

  5. I am totally going to make these (or my own version!)!!

  6. Hey, I’m new to RHYD but I love it! Your eats look amazing, and your running story is inspirational to a newbie runner like myself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

