Tortellini with Eggplant Vegetable Marinara

July 12, 2009 at 3:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

James and I have a new obsession

IMG_3059

Iced Venti Nonfat Latte. With some agave squirted in. Mmmm.. it kind of reminds me of chocolate milk. James was given a bunch of starbucks gift cards and let me tell you…we have been putting them to good use.

James ordered this one. Before we got up to the speaker (we were in the drive-thru) he asked me again what we were getting. I told him.  The spotlight is on him and what does he order? “umm yea can I get a Venti Grande light?” He then turns toward me with a face saying “I did good, right?” I was crying I was laughing so hard! And of course immediately texted my sister since she used to be a barista at starbucks. Oh the hilarity!

I saw a recipe in the latest eating well for Eggplant Pomodoro Pasta and knew that would be the perfect way to use up the pretty lady eggplant we had gotten at the farmers market. I cut the eggplant into bigger chunks to keep the meaty texture. I also put some zucchini, carrots and green pepper. While that was all simmering in the pan I put some parsley, red pepper, capers, red wine vinegar and about a half a cup of marinara to lightly coat all the veggies and bring the dish together.

IMG_2978

The tortellini was from Trader Joe’s. It was just kind of meh. I couldn’t really taste the cheesey interior. But I guess you can’t expect too much from dried tortellini in a bag, huh?

IMG_2975

At least the veggies turned out well! This is James’ plate. Mine was mainly a mound of veggies with a few tortellini sprinkled on it.

Tomorrow’s my birthday! woot woot!

I have lots more pictures of meals to show you. We’ve had some family stuff going on this week so I haven’t felt much like posting but I am going to put some posts together today because we’ve been eatin some good stuff 😉 Have a fab Sunday!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy Early Birthday!

    Once at Peet’s I ordered a “small medium latte.” I was hungover and it took me awhile to realize. And then I laughed at myself, a lot.

  2. ah starbucks can be dangerous! I go there far too often — thank god for the giftcards i have saved up from my birthday or else i’d be one broke blogette!

  3. Dan bought an espresso machine yesterday! So excited!!! I’m going to play barista again 🙂

  4. Does your starbucks have agave. I will due.

  5. Your james sounds exactly like my hubby. I love that he asked if he did good. lol

  6. Iced coff is SOO SOO GOOD!! ahh I love it! One of the best things about summer!!!

    And that veggie sauce looks so tasty!!

    HAPPY WEDNESDAY!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

