Farmer’s Markets, Snow Crab and Fourth of July!

July 5, 2009 at 6:24 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Hope everyone had a fantastic fourth of July! James had the day off of work which was awesome so we made our way over to the farmers market to support the local farmers and get some fresh produce.

IMG_3003

 

IMG_3004

Great place to people watch, lemme tell ya. 

IMG_3008

Some many delicious fruits and veggies! And of course I love all the samples 🙂

IMG_3011

IMG_3012

 IMG_3013

PEACHES! I resisted getting some this week…they are so. good….Juice dripping down your chin and you don’t even care good.

IMG_3014 

Plus so many gorgeous plants here too. And check out that Carolina blue sky we got to enjoy.

IMG_3015  IMG_3017

I had to get some sunflowers while we were there. They were too cheerful to pass up.

IMG_3007

Then we moseyed on over to the section of the market with the bakers and their free samples 😉

IMG_3002

James was completely enamored as he heard the description of this German pastry.  We knew we had to give one a try! The baker had already gone through 3 trays of them! And that’s before 11 AM!

IMG_2992

Just looking at it..you don’t really need any words. But I’ll give you some anyway just in case your mouth isn’t watering quite enough yet.

 IMG_2998

For 4 dollars you can get this little slice of heaven. This pastry was so light and flaky with the perfect variation in textures and flavors that make you want to savor every bite and morsel. The vanilla cream filling was airy and not overly sweet. The toasted almond topping were a wonderful crisp contrast to the soft frosting and pastry.

James was in heaven while he ate this! And I have to say, I was so pleasantly surprised to find that this wasn’t overly sweet in the least! It was a truly delicious treat. Thank you  Annelore! If you live in the triangle, seek these out at the farmers market!

What we ended up with:

IMG_3028

  • Red potatoes
  • Pretty Lady Eggplant
  • Okra
  • 3 cucumbers
  • 1 tomato
  • yellow cauliflower

IMG_3026 IMG_3027

  • cabbage
  • HUGE cantaloupe!
    I was so pumped we got the cantaloupe! James always says he doesn’t like any kind of melon but he tasted of sample of this and said “I can eat this”. Into the bag it went!

Our fantastic day continued when we decided to go see Public Enemies (I love Johnny Depp!). James had a free ticket to the theater so we decided to take advantage. I liked it! I’m not a big fan of movies with guns generally but I thought they did a good job of not making the shoot-em-up scenes overly gory. Plus I  like that period, with the men in long trench coats, robbing banks, protecting women and evading the law. It’s exciting!

And then…

IMG_3031 

Dinner. Snow crab claws. I was thinking about these all through the movie!

These were on super duper sale at Harris Teeter ($3.77/lb!!! we saved $16 on the 2.5 lbs we bought!) and I was PUMPED to get it!! Since moving out of Miami, I just crave seafood and crab is a definitely a favorite treat of mine.

IMG_3042

Before din we snacked on some green veggies (green peppers, broccoli and cucumber) with some black bean dip (refried black beans with tomato and yellow pepper mixed in). James requested cocktail sauce but he quickly realized you don’t need cocktail sauce with crab…the flavor is too delicious to cover up!

IMG_3047

With some three buck chuck on the side. Mmm mmm good!

IMG_3043

Holy cow these were SO GOOD! We call them Trifecta Potatoes because they have 3 different kinds of potatoes in them: sweet potato, red potato and white potato. Oh man so delicious. I love mashed potatoes and the combo of those three potatoes was perfection. The little bit of real butter helped too. Don’t be afraid of butter people! A little bit can go a long way.

IMG_3044 

Delicioso corn on the cob. Corn on the cob just screams summer to me.

IMG_3046

This crab was freakin delicious. No butter necessary, it tasted buttery all on it’s own. I was pretty much in heaven as I was eating this. We still have one cluster left that we’re having with dinner tonight! Yesss…

Then I laid around reading my book until the fireworks started. I climbed into our window for a better view.

IMG_3048

Haha! I didn’t even know James was taking a picture of me like this. I’m sure all of my neighbors thought I was a creeper.

We went and set off some bottle rockets of our own and Toby went NUTS! He was chasing them every which way! I think they reminded him of the laser pointer.

Phewwww! What a long post!! I have more stuff to show you but that will have to wait 🙂 Until later!

Also – I’m watching that show “Kitchen Nightmares” on hulu right now. Kind of terrifying to see what you might be eating at a restaurant. Very glad that 1. I don’t eat meat and 2. We usually eat at home. Ew.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i may or may not have just drooled all over myself at the sight of that pastry — wow!

  2. I love crab – I’m jealous! Yum! And those potatoes look to die for, especially with real butter, yum! Nothing like real butter!

    All that produce is gorgeous! I can’t wait to go to the FM this week now!

  3. I LOVE our Farmers Market!

  4. Hey! You should check out the Durham farmer’s market. May be a little out of the way, BUT you can take Toby (and he will most likely score some awesome treats). The produce was really good and I got some way cute zinnias last weekend too. Enjoy!

  5. Hey lady! I’m a new reader, just catching up on some black logged posts! I love the idea of mixing your potatoes together, since I am a mashed potato-a-holic, like whoa!
    Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

