Farmers Market Finds + Kashi Product Review

June 27, 2009 at 9:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Hello all!! What a wonderful weekend I’m having. James didn’t go into work until 12 today so we got to go to the farmers market! We hadn’t been since the fall so it was so fun to see it all bustling and such. I didn’t get any pictures because I forgot my camera. Next time though. There was SO much fresh fruit and people were just shoving samples in your face everywhere you turned (whom I happily obliged).

IMG_2940

  • Green Pepper
  • Blueberries
  • Mediterranean Squash (new food to try!)

IMG_2941

  • Pretty Lady Eggplant (another new one…we were told it was sweeter than the traditional eggplant)

IMG_2945

  • Tomatoes

IMG_2944

  • Summer Squash

IMG_2942

  • Peaches

IMG_2943

  • Patty Pan Squash  (never tried this…anyone else have?? Suggestions for how to use it??)

So many ideas swimming around in my head for how to use all of this delicious produce. I love having our home stocked with fresh and whole foods!

 And now a product review.

A while back there was a coupon going around for a free frozen meal from Kashi and I JUST got around to redeeming + trying it. I tried the Tuscan Veggie Bake: Yellow squash, roasted eggplant, red onion, and sweet potato. Zesty basil tomato sauce with sun dried tomatoes served inside Kashi seven whole grain noodles.

 

IMG_2908

Excuse the name branding. I took this to work with me and things get swiped very easily! My first week there I put a yogurt in there and it was gone by the time I went to get it for lunch! Who steals yogurt?? But I digress..

IMG_2911

 

IMG_2912

 

IMG_2913

This dish definitely had a spicy kick to it. The noodles were perfectly chewy and, honestly, my favorite part of this dish. I don’t really eat frozen meals so I don’t have a whole lot to compare this to but I did thoroughly enjoy it and the fact that it had 8g of fiber and 7g of protein helped to keep me full through my busy afternoon. If I were to get a frozen meal, I would definitely consider getting this again, but it more so makes me want to figure out how to make it myself.

Okay time to get ready to go see Transformer’s 2 at the IMAX! James has been looking forward to this for AGES! Hushing everyone in the room when a preview came on, telling me all of the amazing things about this new movie multiple times (it was made for the IMAX, 40 new robots, they bought the biggest apple computers to create the animations and they started smoking).

Hope everyone else had a great weekend!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. lovely produce selecition!

    i loveeee the kashi frozen entrees! so perfect for a quick and healthy meal 🙂

  2. I got patty pan squash a number of times last summer. I would peel it, cube it, then cook it with a *little* chopped bacon and lots of black pepper in a sautee pan over medium heat. It is really yummy!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

