Trying to Find the Balance

June 17, 2009 at 11:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Hello kiddies!

I know I’ve been gone for a while and I’ve been thinking a lot about blogging. What am I getting out of it? Am i enjoying it or does it feel like a chore? Why is it so hard for me to get up a daily post like I would like to??

I spend about eight hours a day staring at a glowing computer screen and honestly when I get home the last thing I want to do is look at another glowing screen. And when I get home, I basically just crave some human contact since I spend a lot of my day in solidarity (yay data entry!!). When James gets home, I pretty much just talk his ear off babbling on about any thought I’ve had all day. This, obviously, is time consuming ….and sometimes I listen to his day as well.

But what do I get from blogging?

I love cooking and creating. I love recipes and I love this community. I have learned so much from the blogs I have read and feel like I healthy more aware individual because of it. And I feel like this blog is my creative outlet! It’s my place to write, show my creations, play with photography…it’s an outlet. And, really, it’s nice to be a part of other people who understand why I deviate from the SAD.

So what am I going to do?

I’m really not sure yet. And that’s okay. I need to figure out when is good for ME to blog. Is it worth it to me to wake up earlier in the morning so I can put together my thoughts? Am I able to find time to do it at work? We’ll have to see. But I have something to say and gosh darn it I want to say it! Even more so, I think with starting law school in the fall it will be something I have apart from school and it will be interesting to see how my eating habits evolve and change.

Not surprisingly, I have basically no good for pictures. This will be sort of a collage of a bunch of random pictures and meals that I’ve had. I’m saving my best for last, k? Well alright then let’s get to it!

An assortment of mini pizzas. Mine’s the TJ’s Wrap.

IMG_2838

  • TJ’s Wrap
  • TJ’s Marinara sauce
  • Tofurkey sundried tomato sausage (1/4 of one?)
  • sauteed yellow and green peppers
  • sharp cheddar cheese I couldn’t taste…really I think next time my plan is to clump all the cheese on one spot so I can have on cheesey bite if I want cheese. otherwise it’s not worth it.
  • spinach
  • corn

IMG_2841

yumlicious. No “fresh outta the oven” picture because SVU was on and ya know..nothing else really matters when Mariska and Stabler are on the screen.

This is from a WHILE ago! James’ birthday dinner! Annie’s Mac & Cheese, veggies (upon my insistence) and baked beans from Garden of Eatin.

IMG_2623

Okay now for my FAVORITE thing I’ve had recently. Tempeh Stir Fry! This was SO GOOD! I wish I had better pictures. What really did the trick was this spice packet I got at an Asian grocery:

 

IMG_2835

I know..you can REALLY tell what kind of spice packet that is  with my awesome picture taking skills. Just know this! It’s good and makes your stir fry tastes like you got it from a Chinese Take out place without any weird ingredients. Woohoo!

IMG_2833

So let me tell you what I did that MADE this stir fry mmm mmm good. Okay so let’s start with the ingredients:

  • yellow pepper
  • red onion
  • carrot
  • zucchini
  • yellow squash

All of these ingredients were roasted in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes. THIS WAS SO GOOD! That seriously made this stir fry a cut above the rest. really. I soaked the tempeh, which I cut into 1 inch squares, in the Asian Market sauce. Then I seared it in a hot pan and added broccoli and mushrooms. Once all that was cooked I added the roasted veggies and mixed everything up so it was all saucy. 

IMG_2834

Holy goodness. I’ve been taking this to lunch with my everyday and it’s so freaking good. Roasting veggies before you put them into a stir fry? Yes. Do it. Try it. I encourage it all! And buy random spice packets 🙂 It leads to fun and new meals!

I’ll end with some cute pictures so you can forgive me for not posting!

James mom got the CUTEST little puppy recently. You can’t tell from these pictures..but it only has one eye!! She adopted it from the vet when someone abandoned the poor babe. Toby was skeptical

IMG_2606

And then accepting

IMG_2609

Kind of. Can you see his Elvis lip a little? He channels the king occasionally. Especially when small puppies are on his bed and trying to steal his pheasant.

Okay time to get cooking! Polenta and lentils are on the menu! Stay tuned 🙂

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. cute puppy!
    don’t worry about blogging every day — not necessary! although maybe if you got one of those eye-fi things (is that what it’s called?) that uploads the pics from your camera without even plugging it in, before you get home, that would help — much less time consuming!
    I usually do my evening post in front of the TV, during commercial breaks.
    Also, if you do decide to blog a couple times a day, it seems less time-consuming b/c you’re only updating about one meal instead of 3 🙂

  2. I know how you feel about blogging! Sometimes it does seem like a chore. But when it gets to be that way, I just quit doing it!

    Do whatever makes you happy! It’s more important to be living your life, than writing about it. Not that I want you to quit writing at all, but I’m on your side, computer all day…dont want it at night!

    Hope you get to feeling better about it and your meals look yummy 🙂

  3. definitely do what makes you happy with blogging! I have cut way back from my normal blogging, but am blogging when I feel like it. I am also using it as a journal so that I document things I think I will want to look back on or others may get something out of.

    and hello? I freakin love toby. He seems SO chill – like my boy Oscar! I think they would be fast friends. Also – I need to see that puppy’s face! LOVE puppies.

  4. LOVE the photos of your golden. My Golden does the Elvis thing when he is swimming. Everything you write about him is exactly how mine is. They are the BEST dogs!

  5. Put yourself first and only blog when you want to!!! But please blog when you have cute puppy pictures 😛


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

