Mor0ccan Stew

June 11, 2009 at 2:08 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

I woke up today a little tired. i feel like i just haven’t been able to catch up on sleep! good thing I had something yummy waiting in the fridge for me to start my day of right!

Overnight oats:

IMG_2824 

Honestly I don’t even remember how much oats I put in here! I had made it on Sunday night for Monday morning (so I would have to use the microwave or blender since Mere and Dan were sleeping in the living room) and just got around to eating it this morning! It was GOOD though! Best experience with overnight oats yet!! I think having it in there so long just made them even creamier and more delicious.

I put some TJ’s greek yogurt  and puffed rice in that sucker and called it good.  Oh! AND I put some cinnamon on top. THEN I called it good. Really.

Lunch was another unremarkable hummus wrap. Don’t get me wrong it was delish but ya know…nothing to write the blog about! But it was eaten outside while reading my book so I was happy. I love that I can eat outside! I look forward to it all morning. Sunshine just makes me happy

Dinner was an interesting concoction that I just kind of made up as I went along. I called it a Moroccan stew but I really have no idea if you can call it that. Whatevs. It had garam masala in it so it made it taste Moroccany.

Again, no measurements really. But I’ll give it a go

Moroccan Stew

  • 1 small sweet potato chopped up
  • 1/2 zucchini chopped
  • 1/2 yellow squash, chopped,
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 handfuls of fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 big spoonful of tomato paste
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of cous cous
  • garam masala to taste

I prepared the cous cous separately and instead of water used the liquid from the diced tomato can to give it a little extra flavor! IMG_2832

Then I basically combined everything else in another pan until it was all soft and melded together. Oh and I used the little trick of cooking the sweet tater in the micro for a few minutes before tossing it in the pan for quicker cooking. Because I’m impatient like that.

Check out that fluffy cloud of greek yogurt on the top. Yum! And that’s James with the Texas Pete nearby in the background. Oh and my sunglasses. Big and rockin.

IMG_2830

I really like garam masala. It is just such a great blend of spices (cloves, green and/or black/brown cardamom, cinnamon, cassia)  to have on hand! The sweet potato was def necessary to complete this dish. I can’t wait to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! (Sorry James!)

Okay I’m off to pay attention to SYTYCD (so you think you can dance..duh). Love this show! It makes me miss my girlfriends from Miami like whoa. We all got obsessed with it together and would get together every Wednesday to watch it. It was good times. My BFF Liana wouldn’t even let her employer schedule her to work when it was on in college. Ha! Let the obsession live on!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum! That looks so good! I need to buy some garam masala. I always pick it up and then I’m like, ok, I don’t need this now so I’m going to put it back. Then I see recipes like this that make me want to try it and…yeah I regret not buying it.

    Are you excited about law school?? When do you start, August?

  2. Love the overnight oats! Its nice to wakeup and just have breakfast DONE and ready for you :). I am a huge So you think you can dance fan too! I’m so glad its back on


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

