I Miss My Sister!

June 9, 2009 at 1:56 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

I miss Mere already! Come back!!

 IMG_2808

I really hope that she gets to do her dietetics internship here in Raleigh. That would be a dream come TRUE!!

We had such a fantastic time yesterday! We had a great lunch at a hole in the wall Mediterranean place that I LOVE! I got a falafel wrap that had these awesome chili spread on it. I seriously need to get better with taking pictures. I just don’t think of it! Commitment, Hilary! Work in progress 🙂

Then we walked to Harris Teeter to get ingredients for……

VEGAN CUPCAKES!!

Mere and I have been talking about making vegan cupcakes FOREVER with her copy of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (seriously love this title).

We decided on the cookies and cream. Yea baby. And we got mint oreos (did you know oreos are vegan!? nutso.) to crumble in the cupcake batter AND the frosting. Delicious. The frosting really tastes like cookies and cream ice cream!!

Cookie crumbling:

IMG_2796

Batter:

IMG_2797

Pre oven:

IMG_2800 

FROSTING! This stuff is AMAZINGGG!! I mean it IS sugar and “butter”…

IMG_2802

Whoever thinks that because something is vegan automatically makes it healthy is sooo wrong….the amount of Earth Balance we used..I don’t even want to talk about it. Good thing Mere was in charge of the frosting while I cleaned up…because the tub of Earth Balance felt very light when I put it back in the fridge!

Out of the oven:

IMG_2803

All dolled up:

IMG_2815 

And boy are these GOOD! Seriously I think it was the best cupcake I’ve ever had.  I just had one 🙂 I meant to only have part of one..but I just couldn’t. It didn’t seem right to leave half of this delicious cupcake just sitting all alone. I wanted to unite the halves in my tummy. I’m all for keeping things together 🙂

Dan and Mere left this morning before I left for my first day at work. They had a long 8 hour drive ahead of them!! It was SO nice to have them here and I’m so glad to know I will be seeing them again in August.

This morning, I took a smoothie to go. I had made some overnight oats but I was so nervous my stomach was saying no no no to solid food.

IMG_2806  IMG_2807

Half a banana, lots of frozen berries, 2/3 c. water, lots of kale. Tasty in my belly. Gave me some liquid confidence! bahaha

Work was good! Everyone was so nice and this company is freaking TOP NOTCH! They have a fully loaded cafeteria, coffee + smoothie bar PLUS a gym that has classes!! Including yoga! WOOO! This is extra awesome since the only exercise I’m allowed to do right now is the bike and I don’t have a gym membership which means all the exercise I’m allowed to do right now..is nothing. But not anymore! Stationary bike here I come! I’m not going to overdo it though..Just a couple times a week.

Din was a yummy random bowl. I didn’t end up eating the salad I brought at work (just ate the other stuff I brought – leftover piece o pizza, bag of almonds, green apple, granola bar) so I used the salad as a base and put some lentils and brown top.

IMG_2809

Plus a scoop of hummus and some homemade salsa

IMG_2810 

Simple and satisfying. Love meals like that.

Well I’m exhausted. I didn’t sleep that well last night because I was nervous to start my job today. I get such butterflies in my stomach when I’m nervous! Time to unwind and hit the sack. See you guys tomorrow 🙂

What’s your latest baking success??

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW – those cupcakes look awesome! Good to hear your first day of work went well!

    I made this Peanut Butter Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips a few weeks ago.. it was fantastic and better than regular banana bread.

    http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10116?section=

  2. Those cupcakes look wonderful! My husband made me vegan cookies and cream cupcakes for my birthday last july and I loved them!

  3. those cupcakes sound killer!

    hang in there with your sis girl.. hope you get to see her soon :)!

  4. I want a cupcake NOW! 🙂 I just had some the other day for my friend’s bday, from my very fave place..and I think I get to go back soon for more for my Dad’s bday, woohoo!

    I love Hershey’s perfectly choc. choc cake and frosting – it’s the best, easiest recipe! But I use Lake Champlain Fair Trade cocoa instead. 🙂

  5. Aww I miss you too!!! I hope you don’t mind, but I’m planning on borrowing your cupcake baking pics since I didn’t take any during the process. They turned out so well! Yum!

  6. Those cupcakes look A-mazing. I just Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook and am trying to decide which one to make first.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

