Banana Pancakes + Presidents

June 7, 2009 at 4:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Last night’s dinner was pretty unremarkable. I had “made” some salsa and just put that on top of a spinach salad with some balsamic. And by “made” I mean I opened a can of diced tomatoes, a can of black beans, and a corn of corn, mixed it all together and called it good.

IMG_2507 IMG_2508

Oh and James added some chopped up red onion and garlic pepper/salt. Easy and good. James, Tomas and I dug into this yumo-riffic salsa with some un-pictured chips (woops!).

We then went to the local  pub (where after 3 times of going James already has his name known) and the guys got some wings. And let me tell you, the buffalo sauce on those wings is SO GOOD! I sopped as much of it up as I could with the puny celery sticks they put on the side. Anyone have a good buffalo sauce recommendation/recipe??

Tomas crashed at our place and when we got up I knew it was Banana Pancake time. Kind of like peanut butter jelly time, but without the cool dance accompaniment. I’ll have to work on that.

I snacked on some of these while I got crack-a-lackin:

IMG_2784 IMG_2785

I love these! And I also think it’s a genius way to not waste anything! Touché Trader Joe’s.

The boys started off with an appetizer of cinnamon rolls from a tube:

IMG_2786

It looks like Tomas has a face of pain but I assure you it’s one of pure ecstasy.

IMG_2787

I used the TJ’s Multigrain Pancake Mix to whip up these beauties using almond milk instead of milk and subbed one of the TBSP of oil for apple sauce.

IMG_2788  

Me slicing away at a banana and sipping a Pom spritzer (yup I’m obsessed with these now)

IMG_2790

I also cut up a granny smith apple and sautéed that in a lightly buttered pan with a tsp of brown sugar and cinnamon. It was delish!

IMG_2793

Along with some defrosted mixed berries, a little taste of PB on one of em and some sliced mango. With Maple Syrup for dipping.

IMG_2794

Heavenly.

These came out fluffier than I remembered! Could it be the almond milk??? Only using half the oil?? I guess we’ll never know. I enjoyed every bite while watching these handsome devils:

IMG_2795

Nothing like some presidential action over breakfast. I always want to learn more about history but I feel like I’m terrible at retaining anything! I can’t even tell you which two presidents these are. I think I was just too distracted by the bananananan pancakes.  I’m okay with that.

My sister and her boyfriend get here in an hour and a half! yayayayayay!!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. those banana pancakes look delish.. and thank you for this because i now have Jack Johnson’s song stuck in my head. not a problem =)

  2. oh my goodness, i love the idea of those “ends and pieces” — i will have to hunt them down next time i am at tj’s!

    your pancakes look and sound perfect! i really should eat pancakes more often …

  3. Hope your first day of work went well!

  4. Oh wow those pancakes look amazing! I bet it was the almond milk. Yummy.

  5. My boyfriend makes awesome “buffalo” shrimp by marinating them in a plastic bag with some (I’m not sure how much- enough to get all of the shrimp nice and spicy) Tabasco Brand Garlic Pepper Hot Sauce http://www.tabasco.com/tabasco_tent/pepper_sauce/garlic_pepper_sauce.cfm, then sauteeing them with some chopped onion in a little butter or EVOO (whatever we have on hand).
    I like to eat mine on top of ceasar salad because they are very spicy and contrast nicely with the cool crunch lettuce.
    It really does taste like buffalo sauce!

  6. oops! that should read “crunchy lettuce.”


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

