Lunch in Suburbia

June 5, 2009 at 8:37 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Toby and I met James at his work for lunch this afternoon (Toby had to go up two escalators in the process..pretty funny sight). We walked to some little tables outside Starbucks and dug in! I meant to take some pictures there but I forgot. Too busy people watching and chatting it up. But I did get some before pictures when I packed everything up:

Main course were homemade black bean burgers with sauteed onions and mushrooms on top.

IMG_2743

IMG_2744

This is my go to recipe for black bean burgers. They are absolutely awesome. The only change I make is I use oatmeal instead of bread crumbs. The chili + cumin combo totally makes these stand out. We bought those spices SPECIFICALLY for this recipe! That’s how good it is folks.

This time around I put all of the ingredients in the food processor (instead of mashing the beans by hand – my least favorite part of the recipe). It made them, obviously, very uniform in texture and not chunky. I still really enjoyed them but I missed the chunky texture I get when just mashing it with a fork. But both ways they’re goooooooooood. Trust me on this! Next time I want to try using flax instead of egg (just got some at Whole Foods yesterday! woot!)

All packed up:

IMG_2747 

  • Chips and Salsa
  • Smoked Paprika hummus (delicious! but we didn’t end up eating any)
  • Ghiradelli chocolate (James ended up treating me to a latte instead of having one of these. woop woop! I hadn’t gotten a latte in foreva)

I watched He’s Not That Into You today (rented it for a dolla from the redbox..best invention ever!). I really liked it! Very cute! Of course I liked it even more because my love was in it:

source

I asked James to come home and say “I’m a Mac” but he didn’t go for it. Darn.

Now I’m watching Oprah. Oh the life of being unemployed domestic. Gotta love it. Back to the grind on Monday though! Enjoying  it while I can!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ah the redbox has saved me and my other broke friends many nights when we had nothin to do 🙂 love it!

    those burgers look incredible!

    enjoy your domestic weekend ;)!

  2. I keep meaning to return the Netflix movies that I have had in my house for like 2 months so I can get that one. I think it’s #1 in my Netflix queue.

  3. I just watched that last night. I liked it a lot, but Scarlett Johansen annoyed me.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

