Quinoa Salad with Shrimp and Asparagus

June 4, 2009 at 1:41 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Want to know something AWESOME? I got a JOB! ALREADY! One day of being unemployed and I get another job! woot! Mind you the jobs I’m having right now are TEMP jobs that involve DATA ENTRY. AKA not interesting at all. But whatevs because I’m going to law school in the fall so it’s not like this is my life. AND this one pays way more then my last one so woohoo for that!

While I was out and about today I stopped at Whole Foods for stuff I didn’t need necessities. I spend probably 15 minutes trying to pick out the vitamins I wanted to get and ended up with these:

IMG_2701

My mom told me that I should get a multi-vitamin with minerals and I compared the 365 brand with another brand that blatantly said on the front “Multi-Vitamin with Minerals” and they had the same stuff in em so I said hey I’m going to save 10 dollars and went with the 365 brand. I also got some Calcium Citrate. Apparently you’re supposed to stay away from calcium carbonate (again, got this from my mumsy..she goes to a natural medicines doctor so I basically just benefit from all the info she gets. score)

I also got more of this body wash because it was on sale and we LOVE it! It has that invigorating minty smell plus it’s free of parabens and other weird things.

IMG_2703 

I really want to phase out the chemicals I use on a daily basis. Next up is deodorant and tooth paste!

I also got some quinoa to make this awesome salad I found a recipe for earlier. We had two huge bunches of asparagus in our fridge that needed to be eaten up and I wanted to make something light and summery. This recipe fit the bill!

IMG_2691

I used different measurements of some things. I used more asparagus (about 3/4 of a bunch), half a green pepper, half of a large white onion (what we had leftover in the fridge – I bet red onion would be fantastic), 1 clove of garlic (GINORMIC clove!), some sliced up mushrooms..not sure of the measurement, one knob of fresh ginger (minced – we don’t have a grater- gasp!).

IMG_2692 

I always get my sundried tomatoes from the olive bar at Harris Teeter. I got more then enough for this recipe for 80 cents. Yeehaw!

IMG_2694 

This was seriously EXACTLY what I was looking for. The citrusy taste of the lemon and the fresh ginger went together so much better than I thought it would. I was really questioning about the ginger but I’m really glad I decided to use some.

This was a great option for the summer too. I made it around 5 and then put it in the fridge so when James got home around 8 it was cold and the lemon + ginger really melded together. This could definitely be eaten cold or hot! Gotta love that versatility.

And then I had some of something magical….

IMG_2699

Your eyes are not deceiving you. That is Green&Black’s organic chocolate ice cream.  We also got this at Amazing Savings.  2 bucks for this pint. And man is it good. Especially sprinkled with some unsweetened coconut. Mmmm… I’m surprised it’s lasting as long as it is.

An Edible History

I heard a really interesting story on NPR with an interview with the man who wrote the book “An Edible History”. The story was called Food As Agent of Change.

Here’s a little blurb about it from the NPR website:

Author Tom Standage doesn’t think food is history’s central motivating force. Rather, as he writes in his book An Edible History of Humanity, Standage thinks of food as more of "an invisible fork" prodding humanity along.

"After all," he continues, "everything that every person has ever done, throughout history, has literally been fueled by food." (npr.org)

Cool! I love when food related stuff comes on NPR 🙂

Okay I’m not paying NEARLY enough attention to sytycd (so you think you can dance…duh) so I’m getting back to that. Night!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Most multivitamins contain minerals (I can’t think of any that don’t contain minerals!). Calcium citrate is more easily absorbed than calcium carbonate — with calcium carbonate, you usually want to take it with food to aid the absorption process. Remember that you can only absorb 500 mg at a time, so divvy your doses!

  2. We’re glad you liked the recipe! It is seriously tasty.

  3. That is such a great idea to get your SD tomatoes at the salad bar!

    I am so jealous of that ice cream… oh, man! And what a good deal, seriously.

    Congrats on the j-o-b!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

