Let the Fun Continue…Greek style.

May 27, 2009 at 12:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Bring on the snacks!

We went with a Greek kind of theme tonight

IMG_2548

After the fun night we had with Tomas on Saturday, we wanted the fun to continue and invited him over for some din on Sunday.

To start off we had a bunch of niblies out while the main course was baking in the oven.

Various olives, pita triangles, sundried tomatoes, celery, carrots

IMG_2549

Sorry for the blur!

Tortilla chips (not Greek but whatevs James wanted em and I’m not one to deny)

IMG_2550

Trader Joe’s Hummus quartet. Yum!!! man I love Trader Joe’s hummus. I can never get my homemade kind to be as light and delicious as theirs. What’s your secret Trader Joe’s??

IMG_2551

Shrimp with cocktail sauce (also just something I wanted..hellooo ketchup and horseradish!!)

IMG_2552

Then it was time for the main feature:

Spanakopita

  • 1 lb. frozen spinach, defrosted
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup fat free cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup part skim ricotta
  • 8 sheets phyllo

Mix all ingredients together except for the phyllo.

Grease an 8×8 pan and place one sheet of phyllo down. Spray or brush with olive oil. Layer another piece of phyllo and spray or brush with olive oil. Continue until 4 sheets are laid down. Spread spinach mixture inside. Layer another 4 pieces of phyllo on top using the same olive oil spraying/brushing technique. Bake at 350* for 35-40 minutes.

IMG_2567

James was in charge of assembling. He got a little creative and sprinkled some cheese on top and didn’t really trim the sides.

IMG_2571 

Mmm wine and spinach pie!

IMG_2573

 

I didn’t finish this since I had filled up on snacks but the filling was delish! I didn’t even think it needed the phyllo outside. The sundried tomatoes added a good contrasting flavor to the other more neutral flavors.  I like adding cottage cheese to ricotta too.  I think it gives it more flavor.

The other main feature: Frost/Nixon. Anyone else see this? It was a cool movie and worked out well since James loooves documentaries but I like movies with more of a story line. We thought it was interesting how they cast Nixon in such a sympathetic light, as someone to pity rather then someone to hate. We gave it 4 stars on our netflix..though it could have used a 3.5.

 

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ahhh you can never go wrong with Greek food!! That all looks seriously good! I haven’t seen the movie but I’m a history nerd so maybe I should check it out.

  2. Those are some great eats! I love the greek theme of the evening 🙂

  3. Yum! I just love spankopita!

  4. Yum!!! Only a week and a half til we see each other! Cannot wait!!!!!!!!!

  5. mmmmm, greek food is the best! i’m just about to go to bed, but this post totally got me hungry again!

  6. I need to make this! I love Greek food! Yummm.

  7. Oh my goodness! I love the Spanakopita. I am defintely going to try that. I have been making pizza out of phyllo for my husband and he loves it. I love using phyllo. It can make an ordinary dish seem so professional:)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

