Saturday Experiment

May 16, 2009 at 5:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Last night James told me he wanted to take pictures of everything he ate for a day.I didn’t even ask why he wanted to (I’m going to make a great lawyer..so inquisitive!) I’m assuming it’s because his man food groups are bread and cheese….and maybe taking pictures would give him some perspective on his eating habits.

Of course I said I would do it too..you know..to be supportive 🙂 So I figured I would post it up here! Plus James made a delish breakfast!

For accountability sake, I had a small handful of peanuts when I first woke up and was waiting for breakfast…I was hungry!

I was given a piece of toasted Arnold’s Double Fiber bread,  and 2 eggs scrambled with some mixed frozen veggies. What service!!

IMG_2475

With the appropriate condiments:

IMG_2477

Oh Texas Pete, how I love you!! I think it’s that vinegar base that gets me every time.

James was running around getting ready for work and asked me to make him a smoothie. I was oh so tempted to throw some spinach in there…but I was nice since he made me breakfast.

So I made him a gigantic man smoothie. Well if a man smoothie has lots of strawberry yogurt, frozen strawberries and a banana in it. With a straw. Duh.

IMG_2480

Like his container of choice? We have travel mugs but he prefers empty bottles of salsa. Whatev. At least it’s environmentally friendly, right?? Reuse!!!

Then I ran out the house to the gym while James was leaving for work. I always feel so guilty leaving Toby so I try to leave at the same time as James. Strength in numbers. And I avoid eye contact.

Workout:

  • Time: 70 minutes
  • 50 minutes treadmill – 2.7 miles, 3.9 mph, 8%-12% incline
  • 50 crunches on a stability ball
  • 15 X 3 tricep kick backs with 8 lb weights
  • 15 X 3 shoulder presses w/ squats, 5 lb weights
  • 15 X 3 bicep curls

OO feel the burn!!!

I hung around the apartment doing laundry and such and then decided it was time for a smoothie. I couldn’t resist the urge of taking the end of the banana I was using in my smoothie and smothering it in TJ’s Smooth Unsalted PB. It was everything I imagined it would be.

    IMG_2482

Then it was green smoothie time!! I hadn’t had one in a few days so this really hit the spot.

IMG_2483

  • 3 cups Kale
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • handful of ice
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 6 frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 c. frozen pineapple
  • 1 banana (minus the end 🙂 )

I don’t know how I feel about the pineapple in it. I think I like using mango instead. Need to get some more of that!

Action shot:

IMG_2486

 

I had a hard time getting my smoothies to blend when I first started making them. Now I think I have found the trick! First I put in the ice then I put everything else in. I turn it on and THEN pour in the liquid, while the blender is on. That does the trick!

Now I’m going to go get a planner from Office Depot. For some reason whenever I refer to my planner, I can’t help but say it like a geeky 13 year old with their glasses taped together.

Happy Saturday!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have the Double Fiber bread too!
    And I LOOOOOVE planners. LOVE! I have one, but I saw one at Staples recently that I also really like . . . I am trying to resist! 🙂

  2. I can never get my spinach to blend and end up with chunks of it. Maybe I should adopt your technique somehow?

  3. I LOVE the salsa jar – that is too funny!!

    I was away all weekend and FINALLY catching up my Google Reader!

    I have plans for Green Monster tomorrow, I think!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

