Crab Cakes + Cole Slaw

May 15, 2009 at 10:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Happy Friday!!

This week has FLOWN by! Wednesday night I went to a new yoga class and, lucky for me, the instructor had tight hips so she stretched our hips out sooo well! So well, in fact that on Thursday I went for a run! Okay maybe I wouldn’t call it a run…but I walked about a mile, then ran a mile, then walked a mile. I must have looked like the biggest goof because I was running with a huge grin on my face! There was minimal pain in my hip and I stopped running before it started hurting.

I REALLY needed that run! However short it was. I was starting to feel like I wasn’t a runner anymore and those first few strides my legs felt heavy and I was heartbroken thinking I had lost my “running groove”. But it only took a couple minutes and I started to feel amazing to be out there.

Needless to say I’ve started doing every Yoga for hips I can find!! The one from yoga download is great and today I tried Polly’s for the first time and it  was fantastic!! I can see why everyone wants to do her videos. I will definitely be doing more! Thanks Polly!!!

Okay now rewind to last night’s dinner.

Well first I wanted to show you the pretty orchid my folks got me when I got into UNC law:

IMG_2458 IMG_2456

Toby likes looking out the windows in our apartment.

I love getting crab cakes at restaurants. They’re such a nice treat and I love the crispy outside and creamy filling. I knew that I could make some great crab cakes without paying the high price out at a restaurant. The last time we were at Trader Joe’s I saw a can of crab meat and knew we would be having crab cakes this week!

I highly suggest this crab meat from Trader Joe’s. I think it’s the fact that it has 15% leg meat in it because it was much better then the crab meat we had tried before.

IMG_2450

I wanted to have something green on the side so I also oven roasted some asparagus. I cut up about 3 cloves of garlic and put it on top and also put 1 tsp of olive oil on top of them.

IMG_2451

We had a huge head of cabbage in the fridge so I thought making some coleslaw would be fun! Unfortunately, it didn’t really come out that great. I mean it was okay..but I could have gone without it…so I’m not even going to bother with the recipe. Anyone have a good coleslaw recipe that doesn’t have lots of mayo and sugar in it??

IMG_2464

Whenever I get crab cakes in restaurants, they always have a yummy honey mustard sauce that goes so nicely with the crab. I tried to make some last night by combining brown mustard, a little greek yogurt and some honey (sorry no exact measurements!) It turned out really great! I could see maybe using this sauce for some coleslaw!

IMG_2461

I got the creamy filling that I love about crab cakes with the use of Greek Yogurt. I also added some brown mustard, panko bread crumbs, cropped parsley and chopped spinach (for some color!). I sautéed them in a pan in about a teaspoon of EVOO, cooking them for 4-5 minutes on each side at medium-ish heat.

IMG_2465 IMG_2471

Ah! I’m so glad it’s Friday!! We are watching a superman movie tonight and I got a season of This American Life (the TV series) from Netflix that I’m SO PUMPED to see since I absolutely love the radio show on NPR. AND James has this Sunday off! Woot! Hopefully we will have good weather and can go outside!

Anyone have fun plans this weekend??

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The TV shows of TAL are so great – you’ll love them! Trader Joes makes a great vegan mayo (it’s not labeled as vegan – just low fat) that might be a good regular mayo alternative.
    Weekend plans involve working a few hours both days, but the weather is going to be amazing!

  2. glad you got a run in! You’re right: we are in need of some phone catch up! I’m free all weekend 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

