Calzones + Superfood

May 13, 2009 at 1:04 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Okay I have multiple things to apologize for….

1. My lack of attention being paid to the blog

2. Lack of pictures of my insanely delicious dinner

Man! I’ve been slacking!! Well in all fairness, I was sick last week (not the swine flu I promise!! I’m all better!) and then I went out of town this weekend. I know..excuses excuses.  But I’m back! And there are delicious new meals and products just WAITING to be displayed on here. I promise 😉

Today has been an AWESOME day made possible by my awesome boyfriend. He has today off (he has random days off) so I came home for lunch to find none other then a waffle bar!! He made waffles using the Trader Joe’s Multi Grain Mix that we had used for biscuits and set up a TON of toppings for me to put on my waffles. I would have taken a picture..but it just was NOT pretty…and I wanted to spare you. When I’m given the option of a ton of toppings..I’m going to use them all. Bananas (which I proceeded to mash up), blackberries, defrosted bluberries, peanut butter, whipped topping (just a little 😉 ), maple syrup, and unsweetened coconut. Oh yes, yes I did. It was delectable. Just a taste of everything. It was like each bite was something different!

Then I came home to an empty apartment since James and his caddy (aka Toby in his frisbee filled backpack) went to play frisbee golf. So I headed over to the gym and a did a sweaty 40 minute walk on the treadmill at  3.7 mph and a 10%-15% incline. This morning I also did Hip Opening Flow #4 from Yoga Download and some ab stuff. Pretty good for being my first mayjah workout after being sick for a week!

Calzones

Tonight’s dinner was sooo good!! Seriously. And so easy! You need to make these. ASAP.

At first I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to leave mine open and just make a pizza but I’m so glad that I decided to fold it over!  It made everything so warm and the double whole wheat bread was heavenly. I ate half of mine and will eat the other one for lunch tomorrow. I can’t wait!!!

We used the same Whole Wheat Dough recipe we had the made before and divided it in half. Then James and I went to town and I put lots of veggies in mine and James put cheese in and on his. See if you can tell whose is who.

Before baking:

 IMG_2364 IMG_2366

After:

IMG_2370

See all that green bursting out of mine?! I should have taken a picture of it open. You would have seen a veggie bonanza!! Mushrooms onion, spinach, broccoli, marinara, fresh tomatoes.

MMmmm…

IMG_2376

MMmmm….

IMG_2377 

Good! I love making fun meals like this. It’s a nice way to unwind and hang out when I get home from work. Plus hello..it’s delicious. And Leftovers to take to lunch tomorrow?? Yes please!

Superfood

I’ve seen this Amazing Grass product on a few different blogs and wanted to give it a try myself. I figured when I was coming down with something would be the best time to put it to the test!

I tried the chocolate variety:

IMG_2426

IMG_2429 IMG_2432

It had the kind of chocolate taste you get when you add pure cacao powder to something, which I liked. It definitely didn’t have a fake taste or made it seem chalky. James even tried it and said that it was good! And he usually isn’t a huge fan of my green smoothies.

Here’s a link to all the information about this amazing supplement.  It’s pretty dang impressive.

It claims to have the antioxidant power of 5 servings of vegetables! Plus it mentions more then a few times that it boosts your immune system and that was exactly what I needed. With only 30 calories that’s MORE than a worthy investment. I’m sure if I had drank this everyday it would have helped my cold. If it wasn’t so expensive I would definitely buy a big container of this. I may anyway….

I still have one more packet of the regular flavor to try out and I will definitely let you know what I think!

James left again to go see Star Trek at the IMAX tonight. He’s such a party animal. He doesn’t have work tomorrow so a 10 pm movie is no big. Toby and I are here chillin at the casa…I hope Law and Order is on!!!

Have a good night!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The calzone looks SOOO good! I really need to pick up some whole wheat dough next time I go to the supermarket.

    I’m getting a shake delivered to my house tomorrow..thats supposed to have a full days worth of fruits & veggies! I heard it’s amazing and can’t wait to test it out 🙂

  2. That calzone looks fantastic! Maybe I’ll do that sometime soon, too.

  3. I’m glad you are feeling better!!! You better stock up on that superfood for when law school starts 😛


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

