Cinco De Mayo!

May 7, 2009 at 8:19 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Okay so I’m a little late putting this up. I’ve been feeling under the weather lately so excuse the lack of blog posting! But man do I have some good stuff to show you guys….hopefully that’ll make it up 😉

For a festive Cinco De Mayo meal, James and I got to have something we’d been craving for a while: Fish Tacos!

Since James had the day off, he was in charge of lots of the prep work so lots of the pics are his handy work.

For the taco shells, we used Angela’s recipe for whole wheat tortillas. These are so easy to make!! James used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour.

IMG_2389

Bubbling…

IMG_2394

James used a spatula to fold them in half while they were still warm so they made the perfect sturdy taco shells! They stood up to being full of delicious ingredients without breaking.

IMG_2398 IMG_2399

Our other toppings included an onion and cabbage mixture that were sautéed.

IMG_2412 IMG_2408

Then I used an ingredient I never have before: Plantains!! I decided to cut them and bake them instead of the traditional way of frying them. I love plantains. They bring me back to living in Miami and eating delicious Cuban food!!

IMG_2410

And some corn on the side (yea this meal had a ridic amount of components..but it made it more fun!)

IMG_2402

Fish (I honestly don’t remember what kind…some kind of white fish!). I’m not sure what James did to it exactly…I know I put some liquid smoke and chili pepper on it while he wasn’t looking 🙂

IMG_2413

All together:

IMG_2417

This corn was so delicious and sweet. No butter or salt necessary, my friends!

IMG_2420

I will definitely be buying plantains again.  So incredibley easy to make. I just baked then at 450* with some cooking spray and salt for about 20 minutes. I highly recommend going and buying one!!

IMG_2418

James’ plate:

IMG_2421

I ended up not really eating the fish from mine but gave it to James instead. I just like veggies more!

So I was watching The View today (don’t judge..) since I’m working from home and Barbara Walters says that she is starting to lean more towards being a vegetarian! What sparked this was the story about a cow that escaped a slaughterhouse and was wandering around Queens. She says she’s bringing veggie burgers with her to a BBQ today! Love it.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I so watch the View when I can! What do you do from home?

  2. I guess deciding to lean towards veg. in your 80s is better than not at all!
    I’m so jealous – my hubbs idea of cooking is a digiorno pizza. Those tacos look amazing!

  3. Yum!! Looks good. I seriously want to try making those tortillas, they looked pretty simple from your pics. I haven’t tried to much at making my own breads and stuff, the only thing I’ve done is pizza dough which turned out pretty good 🙂

    I have been thinking about plantains recently too! I’m glad to know they turned out well baked. I am definitely going to copy you soon with those 🙂

  4. Wow, homemade tortillas look amazing!! Plus you don’t have to buy them in a plastic bag – awesome! So making these soon. 🙂 That meal looks fab!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

