Breakfast For Dinner

May 5, 2009 at 1:10 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Last night, breakfast for dinner just seemed like the perfect way to start off the week. We debated on savory (biscuits and eggs) or sweet (pancakes) for a while but eventually James decided we decided to go with savory.

It’s nice because we have this Trader Joe’s Multigrain Baking & Pancake Mix allows us to do both!  (plus it has a recipe for Blueberry coffee cake that looks killer) Gotta love having multi uses!!

IMG_2353

Making the biscuits could not have been easier. Just mix the ingredients together, role out and cut into biscuits. Since we don’t have a biscuit cutter, I used the opening of a glass jar we had (I think it used to be either a salsa or PB jar), it worked like a charm! You just have to be sure to put flour around the opening when you cut each biscuit.

IMG_2348

Another product we tried for the first time tonight was from Morningstar Farms, which we got a coupon for. It’s their new Maple Flavored Sausage Patties.

IMG_2352

I cooked them in a pan so they could get a little crispy

IMG_2350

Split between us, we had 2 egg whites and 2 eggs scrambled. Seriously, James has making eggs down to a science. These were perfectly fluffy and stuck together enough for me to put on top of my biscuit without having them fall off.

IMG_2354

The biscuits were great. They aren’t as light and fluffy as normal white biscuits but that’s to be expected. I like whole grains because they give are heartier flavor and texture then white flour and these definitely had that.

James’ Review: These were great. They were the perfect size with a wholesome taste and a crusty exterior. As a biscuit lover, I was happy”

IMG_2355

The maple flavored sausages were so good! I don’t usually like to buy frozen meat imitations because of the price and the numerous ingredients but the flavor of them is just so good and I was pretty much ecstatic to get a coupon for these! The maple flavor in these was not overwhelming but definitely present. They had that great smoky flavor that all sausage does and was such a great compliment to the milder taste of the biscuit and eggs.

IMG_2356

And a half of a grapefruit on the side to get some vitamin C and a little color into our dinner.

IMG_2357

The most perfect bite (okay several bites) with Texas Pete on top of course:

IMG_2363 

Here’s a peek at James’ man plate, which had some cheese on it too

IMG_2362

I was so happy and satisfied after this dinner. It didn’t make me want to go to work any more today but at least I went to bed with a happy tummy.

This morning I started my day like I’ve been starting so many of my mornings (okay how I start every morning). Green monster to go:

IMG_2323 IMG_2322

Mmm so good and refreshing! I’m craving one already! Good thing my co workers think I just have some coffee in there. I don’t know what they would say about my green monster…especially when I got weird looks when explaining what was on my salad (hummus – they thought it sounded gross! Oh well more hummus for meeee!) 

Here’s some Toby love too:

IMG_2273

Have a good night!

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.