I love Asheville

April 29, 2009 at 1:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

This past weekend I went home and surprised my mom back in Asheville. Gotta love surprises! My step-dad was in on it  so I when I got there around 7:30 pm, I snuck back to my room and Roger (my step dad) called my mom to dinner. My mom came up talking about what she was watching on TV and how Roger had then called her to dinner.

I walked and said “Yea. What is for dinner?”

Of course my mom started yelling and hugging me and talking about how shocked she was that I was home! It was so fun to do! And I had such a wonderful time visiting with my mom and step dad!! (and dinner was some yummy salmon with a mushroom pate stuffed inside some filo dough…oh it was good to be home!!)

Here we are at my half marathon back in November:

IMG_0780

 

IMG_0779

(Excuse the terrible posture. I was absolutely exhausted!)

I did come home to something sad though…our poor cat had broken his leg!!

IMG_2311

Apparently this stone bird feeder fell over on him! So now he has to hobble around on 3 legs hopped up on Vicadin for a month.

 

My first morning there, I had my very first Ezekiel muffin! (Gotta love how parents have good food on hand at all times 😉 )

IMG_2300

I gotta say, this was good but I missed the doughy inside that Thomas English Muffins have.  But it still had those oh so important nooks and cranies!

IMG_2303

With natural peanut butter, strawberries and ground flax on top. Mmm omega 3’s…..

Another reason I love Asheville and my folks house is because this is what I get to look at while I eat breakfast:

IMG_2309

As my mom says pretty much every morning “Look at those mountains!!”

 IMG_2310

When you’re from Florida, mountains are a big deal 🙂

I gotta say, my mom is all up on the latest health food stuff! When I got home I found coconut water in the fridge, and oat bran and whey protein powder in the cupboard! Way to go, Mom!

Plus she’s been drinking a cap full of Apple Cider Vinegar mixed in water every day. This stuff is supposed to be able to do some amazing stuff!

I found this info about it on EarthClinic.com:

“They include cures for allergies (including pet, food and environmental), sinus infections, acne, high cholesterol, flu, chronic fatigue, candida, acid reflux, sore throats, contact dermatitis, arthritis, and gout. 

If you can get over the taste of apple cider vinegar, you will find it one of the most important natural remedies in healing the body. As a wonderful side effect of drinking apple cider vinegar every day, we’ve discovered that it brings a healthy, rosy glow to one’s complexion! .”

I love Caitlin’s challenge to get some glowing skin and I want to join up with her!!  I think in addition to all the awesome tips that Angela gave her, I’m going to do my own Apple Cider Vinegar challenge!! I’ve always had problematic skin and I’ve been told before to try ACV, so now is as good a time as any! I probably won’t start until next week because I’m not sure if I’ll have time to go out and get my supplies until then. But I’m pumped!

Okay I feel like this is long enough… I’ll post about some other parts of my trip, my latest exercise and tonight’s dinner tomorrow morning! Goodnight!

Head over to the Fitnessista’s blog for a GREAT giveaway!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I hope your parents dine out on Thursday (www.diningoutforlife.com)

  2. Awwww poor Socks!!! How is he going to climb the mountains like that?!
    Wish I was there with you guys!!! I miss you! Mom and I have already decided to look at flights as soon as I get my syllabi next week (so we can plan around exams). Can’t wait!

  3. I love surprises! I bet your mom was THRILLED!

    Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog, I’m glad you found me too!

  4. That’s so cute how you surprised your Mom! Your poor kitty!

    Have you tried Rudi’s English muffins? I like those ones a lot!

  5. What a great daughter you are!
    My parents (who still live in Texas) love Asheville and want to move to the Smokey mountains very badly. I keep telling them we have mountains in Oregon – big ones!

  6. Surprises are the BEST! Love the race pics too. 🙂 They look so proud!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

