Say Hello to Spring

April 16, 2009 at 1:42 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

I’m not going to lie, I was tired coming home from work today. I did manage to get my work out in, though. I busted out a short (painful- hip +knee…frustration!) run and then came home and did Level 2 of the Shred. P.S. Jillian Michaels is crazy. But that’s beside the point.

Anyway, when I was done with my workout I wanted something pretty low key and easy but also light and refreshing. It’s been such a pretty day here in the 60’s day and the sun was still shining when I sat down for dinner at close to 7 o’clock! I love it!

Here’s what came together:

Sauteed Kale and sweet potato with some black beans topped with tomato and avocado.

IMG_2185 

So simple but still full of lots of different flavors, colors and textures. I love avocados! I wish they weren’t so dang expensive. I’ve been enjoying the ones we got on sale this past week tremendously.

IMG_2186

And in true Bites + Bowls fashion, check out my new nail polish I got to celebrate the start of Spring!

IMG_2230 

IMG_2231

Scandal! Of course I was a frugal shopper and got this shade at Walgreens for $1.99! It still did the trick perfectly. There really is nothing like some fresh nail polish to put a little bounce in my step. Especially since I spend the majority of my day typing, it’s nice to look down to a bright and cheery color! It’s the little things 😉

GIVEAWAYS

Rev up your engines, people!! There are a TON of giveaways going on right now!! So get commenting!

Gina and Caitlin are both giving away Stoneyfield Farms Products

Jenna is giving away some make your own granola

Meghann is having an Honest Foods giveaway

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your meal looks amazing, and it is full of “powerhouse” foods!!

  2. I love spinach and sweet potatoes, but I’ve never really had kale.

    Love the nail posh steal.

    Oh, and I am also doing the same Stonyfield Farm giveaway, so you have a third opportunity to win. 😀

  3. OW! Love the color. I haven’t had avocado in forever- yum! Great meal.

    I have been having non fat mistos and non fat lattes 🙂

  4. plain without any syrup or sugar!

  5. That looks delish!

    Jillian Michaels *is* crazy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

