Adventures with Oat Bran 2: The Savory Side

April 12, 2009 at 3:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Well my love affair of Oat Bran has continued onto the savory side. I’ve seen a lot of people try savory oats but it never really appealed to me. Since oat bran has a similar texture to grits,  I decided making a savory twist on them could be delicious..and man was I right!

I started off with 1/3 c. of oat bran  and made it on the stove top. I put 1/2 T. of nutritional yeast in it as well as some salt and pepper. This was my first time trying nutritional yeast too! I always see Gina using it on popcorn and such and wanted to try out this alternative to cheese!

It was pretty tasty, I have to say. It wasn’t overwhelming or anything. It reminded of the powdered white cheese you find on rice cakes or something.

 

IMG_2199

I topped my oats with 1 egg + 1 egg white, Texas Pete and a sprinkle of sharp cheddar cheese.

IMG_2200

This was so. good.

IMG_2205

If you have never tried savory oats before, I HIGHLY recommend it.  With every bite of this I was mmming and saying how delicious it was (to Toby since James was at work!). I will be making this again…and again!!

Yesterday I went back to  Hemlock Bluffs to run with a friend on the trails and it was so much fun! Having a running buddy is fantastic! I’ve definitely missed having one. It makes the time go by so quickly and one more lap means more time to chat. Plus Toby had a great time running around and sniffing everything. One drawback of trail running: we saw a snake!! A big long black one! It was freaky. I just thanked God Toby didn’t see it!

Do you like running alone or with others? I really like running with people, as long as we are at pretty much the same running level and like eachother!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yum! I’ll have ot try nutritional yeast!

  2. Savoury oats! You’re a genius!

  3. Yum! I’ll have to try that.

    I’m absolutely obsessed with oat bran, topped with a little butter, sea salt and a poached egg. It is divine! I cut the butter into teeny tiny little pieces and then push it down into the oat bran so I get a little buttery burst throughout. I have it for dinner a lot, too, with or w/o the egg.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

