Happy Passover!

April 9, 2009 at 9:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

As I’ve said before, I love traditions and things that give that bring back warm memories of the past. One of those things, for me, is Passover.  Passover is a Jewish holy day beginning at sunset and celebrated with a seder (or a special dinner). There are certain foods that you eat, and stories that are read. The dinner usually takes a couple hours and involves participation of all the individuals in retelling the story of the Hebrew’s Exodus from Egypt.

It’s mainly the idea of family that I love about Passover, of everyone sitting together and enjoying simple traditions that have been passed down for so long.

Tonight, James and I decided to have our own small and very informal version of Passover.

Really, I think James just wanted an excuse to eat matzo ball soup! And I don’t blame him 😉

On Passover, you aren’t supposed to eat anything with leavening in it. This is done to remember how the Hebrews had to rush out of Egypt before their bread was able to rise! I’m pretty sure their matzo wasn’t whole wheat though….

IMG_2149

But I’m glad ours is! I really like matzo. I think some people find it bland but it’s basically just a cracker. And what better way to portion control then with these 110 calorie sheets? You can also get matzo in different flavas like onion! Love it!

IMG_2150

On time my mom was trying to dehydrate some stale matzo in our convection oven and ended up setting it on fire! That was fun explaining to the fire department!! Oh Mumsy…

Our pretty seder table:

IMG_2168

Okay, let’s break this thing down.

IMG_2166

First we have the seder plate, filled with different kinds of symbolism.

IMG_2154

First we have Charoset which is described on Wikipedia as “a sweet, brown pebbly mixture, representing mortar used by the Jewish slaves to build the storehouses of Egypt” (for recipe scroll down!)

IMG_2155

Next we have the Beitzah : A roasted egg, symbolizing the festival sacrafice that was offered in the Temple of Jerusalem and was then eaten as part of the meal on Seder night”

IMG_2157

Charezet one of the bitter herbs used to symbolize the bitterness and harshness of slavery which the Jews endured in Ancient Egypt.  (romaine lettuce)

IMG_2158

Maror the second bitter herb (horseradish)

 IMG_2159

Karpas: A vegetable other than bitter herbs which is dipped into salt water at the beginning of Seder

IMG_2160

There is also supposed to be a Z’ora, which is a roasted shank bone to symbolize the lamb offered at the Temple of Jerusalem but ya know…lambs are cute and I prefer them alive. So we ex-nayed that.

Charoset Recipe:

  • 2 fuji apples, chopped in a food processor
  • 6 dates, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 c. dried cranberries
  • 1/2 c. almonds, chopped in a food processor
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • ~ 2-3 tsp honey (not even necessary!)

Mix all together. Scoop up with matzo and enjoy!!

I looked forward to the charoset every year. There are tonso of different recipes for it. Last year we used all dried fruits and it was also delicious but there is something about the apple base that I so enjoy

IMG_2162

 

3 pieces of matzo covered:

IMG_2163

 Smoked salmon with capers:

IMG_2172

The potatoes were really simple and easy.

 IMG_2142

One good trick to speed up cooking time is to put them in the microwave for 5 minutes or so then I popped em in a 450* oven for 40 minutes while I set to work on the matzo ball soup!

IMG_2171

IMG_2145

IMG_2147IMG_2152

IMG_2170

IMG_2174

This dinner was such fun to make. I love sitting down to a meal and talking about all the different components of it! And boy did this have a bunch!

The smoked salmon was divine but we both agreed that some cream cheese was missing. There is just something about the cream cheese + smoked salmon + capers combo that can’t be beat!

I hope you enjoyed a little look into our mini Passover seder 🙂

What’s a food that brings back great memories for you?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve been learning so much from all the Passover posts going up! I am not Jewish, but I always buy matza crackers. I think they’re perfect.

    Any kind of macaroni reminds me of Sunday dinners at my grandma’s house as a kid. 😀

  2. […] Leftover charoset […]

  3. I love matzoh ball soup.

  4. We cut out a bone shape in card, write ‘sheepie bone’ on it, and keep it from year to year until it wears out. Then it gets promoted to the ex sheepie-bone collection.

    Apropos lambs, we just saw lambs being born at a farm in the Yorkshire Dales near us.

    I posted it here at

    http://www.quillcardsblog.com/index.php/2009/04/newborn-lambs-in-spring/

  5. […] even more Passover-esque: charoset-inspired quinoa porridge! I’ve been craving charoset since Red Head, Yellow Dog posted about it, and thought it would be awesome to incorporate into this […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

