Crabby? Not Me!

April 8, 2009 at 1:00 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

What’s with this cold front?? Yesterday I was using the AC and today I have the heat on! Brrr! I was planning on a run in the morning tomorrow but since it’s going to be 27 degrees I think I’ll pass…I’ve gotten unused to the cold so fast!

I opted for sleeping in this morning and working out after work. I ran about 1/4 of a mile to the apartment gym,  did 40 minutes on the ET, did some PT exercises (aka TONS of lunges!) and ran home. It was an awesome sweat session! I did my lunges + other PT exercises next to the indoor pool so I was sure to keep my muscle nice and warmed up in the sauna-like room. After my workout, I did some foam rolling and started making dinner which came together in about 15 minutes! I love that!

On the menu? Crab cakes, steamed broccoli and couscous.

IMG_2128

 To the couscous I added some peas, a chopped up plum tomato and the juice from half a lemon. I would have zested the lemon too if we had a zester! Still building my kitchen arsenal 😉

IMG_2134

Steamed broccoli:

IMG_2132

For the crab cakes:

  • 1 can white crab
  • one egg
  • 1/3 c. oatmeal
  • liquid smoke
  • old bay seasoning
  • 1/2 of a lemon’s juice

Mix all together and fry up in a hot pan with 1 tsp of olive oil in it.

IMG_2131

This was so light and refreshing. I liked the crab cakes but I think it would be better with a can of pink crab rather then white. We have a can of pink crab in the cupboard too so I will be trying that soon! I always like adding liquid smoke to the fish cakes that we make. It reminds me of the smoked fish dip that we would get on St. Pete Beach.

Well James it out on the town tonight since he has the next 2 days off from work so it’s just me and Toby! But look what I found when I was looking in our room to get into bed….

IMG_1979

BUSTED! Such a bed hog! And of course he lays across all the pillows! But seriously…how can I ask that face to move?? I think I can find a corner of a pillow someplace….

Night!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s gotten colder in Miami too! Yesterday the high was 93 and now tonight it’s supposed to get down to 54!!! Craziness!

  2. sounds like an awesome workout!
    and CRAB CAKES! mmm! they always remind me of wedding crashers 😀
    have a great day!

  3. mmm crab cakes! I just recently got a zester and still have not used it! I think I just keep forgetting I have it! Love sleeping with the pump- so comfy!

  4. yum! everything looks delicious 🙂

  5. I’ve never thought about oats in CC.. sounds interesting + delicious + nutritious!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

