Stuffed Eggplant

April 2, 2009 at 1:11 am | Posted in recipes | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I love deals as much as the next girl so I was pretty pumped when I found a humungous eggplant on the reduced price produce rack at Harris Teeter. I got a monster eggplant for 75 cents!!!

I searched high and low for what I wanted to do with this beauty. Recently we’ve just been cutting the eggplant up and roasting it so I knew I wanted to do something different from that.

So after a lot of searching I got the idea to do a Stuffed Eggplant.

First I cut the top and bottom off the eggplant then cut it lengthwise.

Then I scooped out the middle of the eggplant, leaving a 1-2” thick layer and cut the scooped out middle part into cubes.

James was nice enough to start dinner before I got home by cooking 1/2 c. of brown rice and 1/2c of lentils in some water with Better than Bullion in it. I walked into a house already smelling delicious!

I sautéed some frozen asparagus from Trader Joes in some olive oil and garlic. I removed those from the pan and put the cubed eggplant, a drained can of diced tomatoes, 1 copped carrot and a big handful of chopped spinach into the skillet.

I sautéed that until everything was soft, adding in some soy sauce, rice vinegar, salt + pepper, and the juice of half of a lemon along the way.

IMG_2005 

Then I layered everything up into the eggplant. First the rice mixutre, then the asparagus and then the veggie mixture.

I put it in the oven at 375* for about 20 minutes.

IMG_2013

IMG_2016

The eggplant collapsed a little as it got softer in the oven so it wasn’t the prettiest thing. I’m having a hard time with the whole making my food pretty thing!  It sure looked pretty BEFORE I put it in the oven (above) but afterward it all kind of fell apart and the colors weren’t as vibrant. Boo. Oh well, it still tasted good.

IMG_2021

The rice wine vinegar was a nice compliment to this meal. I liked the contrast of the vinegar to the almost gravy like taste of the rice + lentils. Oven roasted eggplant is always delicious too. It takes on such a nice and meaty texture.

This recipe made a ton of food so I know James will have stuff to eat while I’m gone!

IMG_2023

I can’t wait to go to New Orleans tomorrow! I will definitely try to take pictures of some of the delicious eats I know I’ll be having!

Time to finish up packing and go to SLEEP! I’m absolutely exhausted!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog… I am obsessed with the eggplant idea! Genius! I am definitely trying it!

  2. I love a good find on the HT reduced produce rack!! Peppers were my last snag..

  3. That’s such a cool idea! I suck at pretty food too, but hopefully that’s not why people read our blog – they’d be disappointed. I think it looks good if that’s any reassurance!
    Have a BLAST! I can’t wait to hear about your trip! Eat a muffaletta!

  4. Hope you had a great weekend in New Orleans!

    Personally, I think your stuffed eggplant looked beautiful. Lots of color, and it sounded delicious!

  5. That looks awesome! I have never cooked eggplant before, which is odd. I need to try to make something with it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

