Orange Dinner

March 18, 2009 at 12:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , ,

Today started with this:

IMG_1862

A sweet card slipped in my purse to be discovered at trabajo

And ended with this:

IMG_1844

 

COOKIES! Homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to be exact. My absolute FAVE! You better believe I ate one the second I got home from the gym and then insisted we make dinner immediately or I would eat the entire plate. James used a recipe from CookingLight which, unfortunately, you need a subscription to see 😦 But James was nice enough to take some “process” pics including this one:

IMG_1839

which makes me much less likely to eat the whole batch aka 2 sticks of butter!!! Oh well 🙂

IMG_1843

IMG_1842

Dinner was equally yummy (it’s just not fair to compare homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to anything…)

Even though my dinner did not actually have an orange in it, there were a lot of orange components!!

On the menu: Salmon cakes, Honey Carrots, and Sweet Potato Fries

IMG_1851

I used Kath’s recipe for the salmon cakes (I’ve been using a lot of her’s lately! They’re just so delicious! Thanks for the inspiration Kath!!) Of course I tend to defile them with her arch nemesis: onions. Ah we just love em in our house! So that was my basic addition to this recipe, plus I used plain yogurt instead of mayo since I don’t like mayo.

IMG_1852

James has been wanting honey glazed carrots  for ages and since he’s been so wonderful (see: baking me delicious cookies and cleaning the apartment) I knew he more then deserved one of his favorites!

IMG_1855

First, I chopped up 4 carrots, put it in a glass bowl with some water and microwaved them for 5 minutes. Then I put them in a baking dish and topped them with 1 tbsp honey, 2 tsp apple cider vinegar, sprinkle of salt and 1 tsp olive oil. Then I put them in the oven for maybe 10 minutes while the delicious fries finished up!

We got this crazy looking thing at the farmers market the last time we went.

IMG_1849

We were told it tasted like it was dipped in sugar so obviously we had to try it! I cut up one sweet potato and this super sweet potato, sprayed it with olive oil and popped it in a 425* oven for maybe 30-40 minutes? I just kept an eye on them.

IMG_1858

I couldn’t really taste big diff between the super sweet potato and the regular sweet potato but it was still fun to try something new!

Oh and Happy Saint Patrick’s Day! As a red head with some Irish blood, I particularly like this day…especially since green is my color 😉

Now I’m just hanging out in our nice and clean apartment, watching West Wing, and desperately needing to shower. Later!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay for cards!

    http://www.redheadedjournal.wordpress.com

  2. I alwasy deface kath’s recipes by adding onions too! I can’t help it, I love onions and honestly they make everything taste better in my opinion! 🙂

  3. i just caught up on your posts and CONGRATS on getting into your top choice law school! that is so exciting 😀
    the cookies look wonderful– i love chocolate chip!
    have a great day!

  4. How sweet of him to make cookies! really good cookies are always made with butter 😉 Great dinner too. Happy St. Patty’s day chica!

  5. beautiful homemade cookies + dinner!! I’ve tried enough low-fat cookie recipes to know that the real thing is WAY better 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

