It All Adds Up.

March 15, 2009 at 8:53 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I’ve been hearing and seeing some interesting things lately regarding food.

The White House Should have a Garden

The first thing was an interview I heard with Michael Pollan on NPR. It was regarding an open letter he had written to the president (he wrote it before the election so it was to whoever was president..not Obama specifically). And the interviewer laughed and said that one of the more “preposterous" things he had written was that the White House should turn some of it’s land into a White House garden, as an example to the rest of us of having locally grown food . He replied “Why is that preposterous, Terry? I think that is one of the more practical things I suggest” since they would not need Congress’ approval. If the President’s family went and pulled out weeds, it would really set the tone. Growing a little bit of food would help so many things. Reducing our carbon footprint, reducing the amount of pesticides we are consuming, getting a little exercise from pulling weeds etc.  And that the president could donate the extras to a local foodbank. Pollan claimed, “You have this powerful image of the White House feeding Americans, what could be better then that?”

I seriously suggest listening to that interview. It is PACKED with interesting things. Like why  food that is bad for us (i.e. HFCS) is the cheapest. Listen to find out!!

Living Healthfully on a Dollar a Day

Another thing that I also heard about, first on Good Morning America and then on the local NPR station, was a woman in Durham, NC who was living on a dollar a day for a month. Her blog, LessIsEnough, is really interesting and outlines her journey..And she does a lot of her shopping at Whole Foods to boot! She was inspired to take on this challenge because she had read an article claiming that unhealthy food was less expensive then healthy food (they were looking at calories, not nutrients) and she didn’t believe that that was true and wanted to prove that one could have a healthy diet on very little money. She did things like get oats from bulk bins, buying pasta and make chicken soup.  Definitely check it out. I like the inspiration behind it, showing people eating healthy doesn’t have to be expensive. It’s just about getting back to basics.

EcoSearch.org

Thirdly, James found an incredible new search engine that is solely dedicated to helping the environment. The money they make from advertisers go to nonprofits such as the Sierra Club and Rainforest Alliance. So the more people that USE ecosearch.org, the more advertisers, the more money that goes toward the environment. It works just as well as google. So change your search engine in your web browser and make a difference when you try to look up a good Thai place near you 🙂

 

Also – I decided to make an appointment with an Orthopedist this week for my knee. Blah. I made it 1.5 miles on the treadmill yesterday before I was in too much pain to continue. Can I just say how much I miss running? I miss getting out in the morning before the sun is up. I miss having Toby run next to me and look up at me with a big smile on his face. I miss seeing everything on my running routes. I miss having that time outside. I miss the feeling of accomplishment afterwards. I miss the sweat. I miss the endorphins. I miss feeling like a runner. Okay, I’m done. Time to go swim!

I will post some eats later.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a great post. Thank you for all the wonderful links. Good luck with the knee. Let us know how it turns out

  2. Thanks for sharing such great links. The Less is Enough one is what I am browsing through right now!

  3. What a great post! I can’t wait to listen to that interview. I have been wanting to read “In Defense of Food” for awhile now. I think there is a Facebook group about getting a garden in the White House! http://apps.facebook.com/causes/11991?m=8c3a5226&recruiter_id=742731

    Very cool search engine – I need to look into that! And off to check out that blog. I wish I could live on so little – that’s amazing!

    I hope your appt goes well and your knee gets better!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

