Second Time’s a Charm

March 14, 2009 at 12:50 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Hello!! SO glad that it’s Friday! I went for another swim after work today and tomorrow I am going to attempt to run. My goal is to get through 3 miles pain free. I’m so nervous!!  I am going to ease back into my running. For this week I plan on running only ever other day and I am hoping to do a run of 10 miles next weekend. Hopefully then I will be ready for the half marathon in 2 weeks. Gah I’m so nervous!!

Tonight I made my second attempt at baked tofu AND kale chips. I had tried both before and they did not turn out well. The tofu was rubbery and not tasty at all. When we made kale chips, we didn’t take the leaves off their thick stems (oops) and then they were salted too much (double oops). It was not so pleasant. I kind of felt like I was eating the ocean.

BUT tonight was a success! It’s the little things….

So I used  the infamous Gliding Calm tofu as my inspiration! I put some honey, sesame oil, BBQ sauce and garlic pepper all over the slices of extra firm tofu. Then I roasted it in the oven at 425* for 30 minutes, flipping halfway through.

I also threw some kale in the oven for the last fifteen minutes – this time removed from stem, sprayed with olive oil and LIGHTLY sprinkled with salt. Perfecto!

IMG_1798

 

Note the bite out of the first piece of tofu 🙂 I had to make sure it was blog worthy.

IMG_1801

Lovely mountain of green crispy goodness!

IMG_1803

And my night just kept getting better! James surprised me by buying some VitaTops VitaMuffins!! I have been eyeing these for months but couldn’t justify spending $5 on 4 little muffins. Yay for surprises!

I popped this baby in the toasted and the spread some TJ smooth unsalted PB on top.

IMG_1796

 

Oh.my.gosh. This was HEAVENLY! I told James we were in trouble now..because I was going to have to get these again. Then he told me there are vita-brownies…oh it just keeps getting better!! Check out those oozey chocolate chips. It was like eating a piece of cake with peanut butter on top. I would use more words to describe that but I believe you all know how amazing that concept is 🙂

Now I am going watch Rachel Getting Married. I love Anne Hathaway and have heard great things about this move. Hopefully it lives up to the hype!

What’s your favorite food splurge?

I love going out for sushi! Thankfully we’ve learned how to make our own so I can have yummy sushi more often!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. aw thanks for the shout out!!! isn’t tofu the greatest?!

  2. Mmm, I need to make myself some tofu and kale soon. Love ’em,

    II made this homemade hot fudge the other day (I need to post about it) that is totally my favorite splurge right now. Like, almost every day this week. Oops. 😉

  3. Your meal looks great! My food splurge…Ice Cream Sundae with Extra HOT FUDGE! YUM!

  4. I had the same snack as you last night, although I then topped it off with cool whip (which I have tried to refrain from buying because the list of crap in it is scary).

    Toby is so sweet!! I think Goldens are beautiful,

    I really loved law school. I know that the market will turn by the time you graduate, but I wonder if law school has become more competitive because of the market and fear of jobs. I was lucky that I went to a school where a majority of the students were nice and wanted to help each other. You just have to remember that in law school everyone is used to being at the top during college, and no one can be at the top anymore. I was used to getting all As in college, so getting Bs in law school made me so upset. Also, depending on where you go to law school there may be a curve that the professors must follow, so only a small amount of students can get an A.

    Also keep running and exercising during law school. I still fit in a work out each day. One time a law school friend (who was letting her competitive side out) asked me how I could find time to work out. I think she was mad that I did, but I did. You need “me time” to get you through the stress, and sometimes it is nice to get away from law school people!

    Just try your best, don’t stress (too much) and law school will go great for you.

    Oh one more, you should keep healthy snacks in your bag because you will have long days at the law school, and need healthy meals and snacks to get you through it.

  5. […] bar experience! It was good. The Asian Tofu salad was delish. I have a new tofu obsession after my success the other […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

