Kitchen Sink Casserole

March 5, 2009 at 1:39 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

This casserole is not for the faint of heart.  James and I were going to have mahi mahi tonight but, unfortunately, the fish did not defrost in time. Oh well! Always tomorrow night!

So while we were contemplating what our dinner alternative would be, James broke out this lovely appetizer spread:

IMG_1687

He got a whole wheat baguette which was sliced, toasted and drizzled with EVOO. He also got some little containers of stuff from the olive bar (artchioke hearts, olives, sundried tomato, mushrooms) at Harris Teeter. They didn’t even charge him for it! Score!

I knew we had some fat free refried black beans and the tortillas we made the other night.. Plus James got a whole bunch of tomatoes and avocados from the discount produce stand at HT so I was thinking burritos! Then James suggested we make a casserole like this one. We went a little crazy with everything we put in it though!!

Layer 1: homemade tortillas

IMG_1691

Layer 2: TJ’s Refried Black Beans

Layer 3: Ricotta + defrosted chopped spinach

IMG_1693

Layer 4: Broccoli

Layer 5: Tomatoes

Layer 6: Corn + sautéed onions

IMG_1695

James’ half had 3 layers of tortillas + more ricotta and less tomatoes.

IMG_1697

(Left half is me right half is James)

After being cooked in a 375* oven for 50 minutes:

IMG_1704

Honestly, I filled myself up on the appetizers!! But I still managed to have a little piece 🙂

 IMG_1709

Post picture I put some plain yogurt, Texas Pete and homemade guac on it.

The combo of the ricotta/spinach layer and refried black beans worked surprisingly well! And the corn was such a good addition. It was kind of a last minute throw in and I’m so glad we did! Corn always gives the perfect amount of sweetness.  It definitely made this dinner.

I love doing casseroles like this because James and I can customize each side. Perfecto.

It’s finally going to start warming up here! I am looking forward to going for a run tomorrow (finally!!). I ended up having another elliptical day today…which was okay because it was about 15* outside. But tomorrow, it’s on. Just me, Toby and the pavement.  I really really hope my knee feels okay! I did a little yoga while waiting for the casserole to be done. The rest of the plans for tonight include relaxing, taking T-man out one last time and going to bed!

What’s your favorite kind of casserole to make? There was an article on npr.org about a new kind of casserole. They had some cool recipes and twists on old favorites! I think casseroles can be anything you want them to be…comforting, light and fresh, smoky with deep flavors, Mexican, Italian, Indian….so many possibilities!

spam

There was also this article about spam. Okay seriously…this stuff sounds disgusting but the guy who writes this article RAVES about how amazing spam is and all the different ways you can eat it!! Did you know Hawaii eats the most spam of any state??

Goodnight!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what a fun dinner! LOVE refried black beans, I need to pick some more up! Hope you have a great day girl

  2. I LOVE Spam! I grew up on it, so it holds a special place in my heart. It’s so nasty looking, but basically it tastes like a salty hot dog. When I ate meat, I used to fry it up in the pan, then serve it with rice, fresh tomatoes, green onions, and soy sauce. Yum!
    That casserole is intense! Good, but intense 🙂

  3. I love beans!! + (almost) any recipe with beans!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

