BBQ Mushroom Quesadillas

March 3, 2009 at 2:53 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

We have had a snowy day here in North Carolina! Unfortunately, we did not get a snow day. Bummer! But that’s okay. The day flew by because I was starting on a new project.

Today was my rest day. Does anyone else find rest days hard?? I find I feel antsy. Good thing I got a workout making dinner! I used the recipe from Oh She Glows and made whole wheat flour tortillas! My workout came from rolling all of these babies out. …Especially since we didn’t have a rolling pin so I was using a can of tomatoes! And I doubled the recipe per James’ request. Phew!

 IMG_1630

They sure came out tasty though. Though, I may or may not have set off the smoke alarm in our apartment while making them ….shhhh…..

The I got started on the BBQ Mushroom Quesadilla recipe I found in this month’s EatingWell. I pretty much guesstimated on all the measurements for stuff and used the recipe as a guideline. They called for portabello mushrooms but we used some white mushrooms we got from the reduced produce stand. I also added in some chickpeas for some extra protein!

Sautéing in the pan:

IMG_1628

 

I halved the recipe for the sauce since we def weren’t using 1 lb of mushrooms.

Mixed into the BBQ+tomato paste+cider vinegar+chili powder sauce blend:

IMG_1632 

 I sprinkled some Mexican Blend part skim milk cheese on a tortilla, spread the mushroom mixture on top, put another tortilla on top and put it in the George Foreman until the cheese got all gooey:

IMG_1636

Okay first off..you can’t really go wrong with BBQ sauce and cheese. I mean…I pretty much knew it was a fool proof meal! The tortillas were so nice and chewy and the combination of that with all the different textures of the filling was awesome. James was mmming the entire time he ate this!

Okay confession time: I got sucked into the Bachelor towards the beginning of this season. Ah! James works late and I would get bored and we don’t have cable…yup those are my excuses and I’m sticking to them. Anywho we ate dinner tonight while watching the finale. SO GOOD! Oh the drama!! I miss watching bad tv like this with my college roommates!

I’m off to gush over how awesome the finale is with my facebook wife/soulmate/BFF/twin (ok not real twin but CLOSE!)

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So glad you loved the spelt tortillas! I am pretty much obsessed with them….tee hee!

  2. I love making my own wraps and tortillas. Pretty impressive, especially with no rolling pin!!!

  3. So impressive that you made your own wraps!! I keep saying I am going to try it but I never do. 😦

  4. You made tortillas? That is freaking awesome. I need to do this! I love bbq sauce in pretty much anything ;). We are having quesadillas tonight. Maybe I will make a few bbq!

  5. those quesadillas look amazing!! i have never even thought to make my own tortillas, but sounds like a really fun project! 🙂

  6. Looks good!!! I’m glad you’re getting some use out of the George Foreman 🙂

  7. Mere: Definitely getting use out of it! It was an awesome gift!!! thanks 😀

  8. […] knew we had some fat free refried black beans and the tortillas we made the other night.. Plus James got a whole bunch of tomatoes and avocados from the discount […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

