Wet Runner & Dog Crossing

February 28, 2009 at 6:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

And the weekend forecast is….

Today
Feb 28

Rain / Thunder

Rain / Thunder

Sun
Mar 1

Rain
Rain

Obviously my first panicked thought when I saw this was…when am I going to do my long run?! I looked at the hourly forecast and I had a choice of running in light rain, rain, heavy rain and a thunderstorm. All lovely options.

I decided to suck it up and run this morning since that was during the supposed light rain and it was relatively warm (55*) . So I put on all the wicky running clothes I could get my hands on + a baseball cap to keep the rain out of my face and a vest to keep my core warm.

The aftermath:

IMG_1598

(Note the Canes hat! Go Miami!)

Okay I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer..but my run sucked. Honestly, I don’t really mind running in the rain. And plus this was only an 8 mile long run (mid-training taper) so I wasn’t too concerned. But then my knee started giving me problems the second I left. It had bothered me some during my speedwork yesterday but I’ve never had knee issues so I figured I’d be fine. I ended up having to walk a mile in the middle of my run which was really discouraging and I was in a lot of pain.

Then, after I had started running again – and mind you it’s been raining this whole time—a car drives by and splashes a huge puddle all over Toby and I…not a little splash – I’m talking Disney World splash mountain here. If I wasn’t soaked before, I was after that. I just stood there for a second with my mouth open, shocked at what had just happened. It’s one of those things you just have to laugh about because it’s so ridiculous it actually happened!!

So now I’m home, showered and dried off and doing some RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation) and hoping and praying my knee heals itself. I think I might buy some new running shoes as well – I’ve had mine since July.

Snuggle Buns

James was making a hot dog (turkey) for himself and it just sounded too good to pass up. He got these snuggle buns that he’s been raving about:

IMG_1587

And when I said I wanted to have mine on a piece of ezekiel instead he told me I was being a snob. So I said fine let me see the snuggle nutritionals. He looked at the back of the package and said “They’re made of bread”

“Well how many calories are in them?”

“18” “

18?”

“Yea I was shocked too.”

He’s crazy.

I stuck with the Ezekiel.

 IMG_1595

Here’s James’ review of the Snuggles:

IMG_1589

“These buns are designed well. They don’t tear along a crease and you can pile a lot of toppings without having them fall overboard. They could easily accommodate a sausage or hot dog and I wish they came in whole wheat. I recommend toasting them and keeping the in the freezer for optimal freshness. They taste good…but whole wheat would be better” 

There you have it folks! It’s still raining outside and I’m still icing my knee.

IMG_1601

haha! It looks so disproportionately large! I just tucked a bag of ice wrapped in a kitchen towel under my dance pants.

And my nurse, who also went on my run with me and got soaked:

IMG_1602 

I think I’m going to do some Yoga in a bit. Maybe it’ll help my knee. Other then that I think I’m going to take it easy today (the R in RICE!) and re-read The Great Gatsby.

Enjoy your Saturday!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. im sorry about your knees… that sucks. you’ve probably just irritated them (speedwork is really hard on your knees), so take it off until they are better. gluocosamine is a great thing for all runners to take, but its takes months to really feel the effect. the most important thing is rest!!! 🙂 thanks for the words of encouragement earlier.

  2. I actually posted a very similar thing about the weather this weekend and when am I going to do my long run. Unfortunately, I was not as smart and didn’t do it today and it’s supposed to snow tomorrow!

  3. Oooh that sucks about all the rain and being splashed by that car! My knees used to be ok when I ran (like back at Hollins) but now they kill me. I hope the RICE helps!

  4. have fun doing yoga – love it

    great eats!

    ugh i hate when the weather gets in the way with plans!

  5. 18 calories! hahaha.

  6. Happened to run across your blog because of the snuggles. And, they DO come in wheat! You’ll have to tell your husband.

    Hapy Eating 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

