Mediterranian Livin’

February 26, 2009 at 12:40 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Good evening!

Right now I am watching the movie The Changeling so this will be quick!

In the News:

  • Obama’s (sort of) state to the union (you can listen to his speech and see the text of it at the NPR website)
  • The Republican response of Bobby Jindal – the young governor from Louisiana who is very popular in the state and the Republicans are hoping to have him as one of the new faces of the party in order to excite younger voters and rejuvenate the party  (I love political strategies! I find them fascinating —  I was a political science major in college)
  • Turkish airplane crashed – too many plane crashes lately!!! What’s going on?

Tonight’s dinner was inspired by some sundried tomatoes and kalamata olives James’ mom was nice enough to give to us. A couple weeks ago, I bought some frozen Tilapia from Trader Joe’s. So I decided to make a Mediterranean Tilapia.

First I defrosted the fish by putting it in the fridge before I left for work. Once it was defrosted, I put the fillets on a sheet of tin foil, spread about a teaspoon of olive oil over the fillets and squeezed some lemons on top. Then I cut up the lemon and placed it over the fish.

IMG_1518

I preheated the oven to 375* and folded the tinfoil over to make a little tent for the fish while it cooked. I cooked it for about 20 minutes and then put a mixture of kalamata olives, chopped sundried tomatoes and capers on top for the last 5-10 minutes.

IMG_1521

Putting the mixture in for the last few minutes warmed it up and got some of the flavors in the fish.

I had one of the fillets with a side of steamed broccoli:

IMG_1524

IMG_1526

It was such a great, refreshing meal. Nothing heavy here! I love Mediterranean food!!

The end of this week is warming up! Tomorrow the high is 67*! Wahoo! I hope it’s warm for my run tomorrow morning (warm = above 30 degrees).

Okay back to the movie. It’s good..but disturbing! Oh my gosh. I hope I can make it through. I’ll let you know how it goes.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I haven’t seen that movie yet! I need to add it to my list! Your olive topping looks amazing! I love warm olives!

  2. Sounds delish!!!!!

    p.s. my new site is finally up and running 100% and I have resolved the google reader isssue I was having. Not sure if you were a subsciber to my old blog but wanted to let you know in case!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

