Love Songs, Candles and Sweets

February 15, 2009 at 1:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

When it was almost time for James to come home from work I kept telling him to let me know he was on his way. He told me it would take him 25 minutes to get home so I started setting up my little surprise and he showed up in 15 minutes!!! So I quickly banished him to the bedroom to set everything up!

I had hustled around all day getting the apartment all cleaned up which included folding about a million loads of laundry and putting them away:

IMG_1404

Then I got to work on making the sweet treats for the evening 😉

IMG_1406

Chocolate covered strawberries and bannana pumpkin oatmeal cookies. They were actually supposed to just be banana oatmeal cookies but I realized I only had 2 bananas instead of 3! So I had to improvise with some pumpkin. I actually got the idea to make these when I saw the recipe on my sister’s blog. I had given her the recipe ages ago and forgot about them! (Recipe at the end of the post!)

IMG_1407

Then I worked on the ambience which, of course, involved candles….

 

IMG_1416

Charles Schwas Cabernet Sauvignon from TJ’s….

IMG_1414

and flowers….

IMG_1419

IMG_1405 

Making the strawberries was so ridiculously easy. I just melted some semi-sweet chocolate chips in the microwave and spooned it over some cleaned and dried strawberries (on sale buy one get one free at Harris Teeter!!). Then I put them on a plate that I put wax paper over and popped em in the fridge.  

IMG_1424

I also had the pandora station “Love Songs” playing on the laptop which was basically playing a bunch of 90’s-riffic ballads. It was awesome. I definitely serenaded James to some songs including Angel of Mine and the Titanic song by Celine Dion…of course all of this involved interpretative movements and large hand gestures and me proclaiming “I HAD THIS CD!”

IMG_1428

Banana Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

  • 2 c. rolled oats
  • 1/3 c. applesauce
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • 2 mashed bananas
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4 c. chocolate chips (I may have used a few more then this….:) )

Mix all ingredients together. Let sit for 20 minutes. Bake for 15 minutes in a 350* oven. I shaped them into hears with my fingers for fun heehee

Now I am just blogging and waiting for the boys to get out of bed so we can go get amazing breakfast at Brigs. I can’t wait! I still have no idea what I’m going to get.

IMG_0125

On the agenda today:

  • Yoga
  • Breakfast
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Buy a kite
  • play with kite in field
  • workout
  • make sushi!!

Have a good Sunday!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a beautiful day!

  2. i TOTALLY need to make some of those cookies!
    looks like a lovely evening 😀
    hope you’re having a great day!

  3. Way to go with all the laundry. The folding and putting away is the worst part! The chocolate covered strawberries are making me hungry, and the recipe for the cookies is so healthy and looks tasty! I am going to print it off and try it myself! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

