Beans and More Beans

February 12, 2009 at 2:14 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I have seen a few bloggers doing Crap Free Week and I decided to give it a try.  Last week I had actually tried to do something similar, before I saw it out in the blog world, but was a less than successful, let me tell you. My major problem is that I come home from work and want to eat the entire house. I think it’s more out of habit than being terribly hungry.

I didn’t really want to officially restrict myself from anything but rather I wanted to work on eating more whole, unprocessed food. For the past few days, instead of taking wraps to work, I opted for a combo of lentils and beans. One day it was lentils and black beans and today it was lentils with red kidney beans on a bed of cabbage with some balsamic vinegar over the top. Let me tell you, this kept me more full and satisfied then any wrap ever has.

 

 IMG_1359

For an afternoon snack, I had some cut up carrots and cucumbers.

IMG_1357

And I dipped the carrots in some TJ’s Unsalted Creamy Peanut Butter (ingredients only include peanuts).

IMG_1360

I came home feeling satisfied and happy. I also got some good news today while I was at work AND the high today was 75!! I got to wear a skirt for the first time in months! Always makes for a good day.

To make it even better, I came home to find dinner already being made.

It included TJ’s Bean and Barley Soup with some Microwave potato chips. James also put the other TJ’s soy chorizo in this.

 

IMG_1365

I was feeling like I wanted something more voluminous so I broke out the spaghetti squash and mixed it in.

 

IMG_1371 

We ate dinner while watching the fabulous movie Everything is Illuminated. This movie is so. so good. It’s beautiful and funny and tragic and touching. I really love it.

You know what else I love? The fact that the sunrise is at 7:07 AM which means more running time in the daylight. And since it’s warmer outside I don’t dread getting out from underneath my blankets. Needless to say, my run this morning was glorious. It’s just been a good day. I hope everyone else had one too!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ha, we had very similar temps in Miami and NC today!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

