Spaghetti or Not and The Challenge!

February 7, 2009 at 11:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This week in NC has been cold…really really cold. Which is why I was SO excited to see that this weekend was going to be in the 70’s!! I was pumped for a leisurely run in the sun today and going to an awesome new spot for my 9 miler tomorrow.

But alas, my immune system had different plans.

I had been pretty run down at work on Thursday and Friday and had a headache all day which is unusual for me – I rarely get headaches. Then last night I got that “I’m getting a cold feeling” and proceeded to spend the entire night awake in my bed with a painful sore throat. Yup. Definitely sick.

But that didn’t stop me from going to the Krispy Kreme Challenge to cheer my boys on!!

 

IMG_1311

The Challenge:

  1. Run 2 miles to the Krispy Kreme Store
  2. Eat 1 dozen Krispy Kreme donuts
  3. Run 2 miles

James & Toby Run

IMG_1325

Insert here: Me yelling my head off and telling him he’s almost to the finish!

Isn’t it awesome Toby got to run the race with him? I was v. proud.

He did not feel well after this race. I’ll spare you those pictures.

When I got home I knew I needed some veggies and all of their immune boosting goodness so I made the Spaghetti squash I had bought last week.

I heated it in a 425* oven for 40 minutes.

IMG_1342

IMG_1343

Then the fun part! Take a fork and drag it through the meat of the squash.

IMG_1347

I topped it with some salt, garlic pepper, marinara sauce and broccoli. It was delish.

IMG_1351

I also made myself some Green Tea for all of it’s immunity boosting powers!

IMG_1354

I found this on CNN.com:

Green tea is a rich source of a type of antioxidant called a catechin, and preliminary research has found that a specific catechin — epigallocatechin gallate (egcg) — may give the beverage antigen-fighting abilities. When researchers at the University of Sherbrooke in Canada added green tea to lab samples of the adenovirus (one of many viruses that causes colds), they discovered that egcg inhibited the virus’ ability to replicate. Similarly, researchers in South Korea found that egcg can also stop the influenza virus from replicating. While these studies were conducted in petri dishes instead of human subjects, some researchers believe you can reasonably bank on green tea’s benefits — particularly when it’s consumed in place of colas or other sugary beverages with little nutritional benefit. "Green tea catechins can improve lymphocyte responses and seem to have anti-inflammatory effects," Stephensen says.

Yup. I’m making myself another cup right now 😉

I also read that raw garlic is great for you. I’m going to try to add some of that to dinner tonight!

What do you do when you get a cold??

I’m a big fan of Zicam and Emergen-C. I’m praying I magically feel better tomorrow and can do my long run!! Gah!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aw I’m sorry you’re sick! Stay in bed and get some rest! I always drink a ton of 100% cranberry juice when I’m sick. I think all the vitamin C helps!
    Way to go James for finishing that race! I would have been feeling pretty bad after a dozen donuts too . . . or did he follow through with his plan to sneak some into Toby’s backpack? 😉

  2. My sister goes to Meredith College and did the Krispy Creme challenge, small world!

  3. hahaha awesome!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

