Inspired By Soy Chorizo + Grocery Shopping

February 2, 2009 at 2:30 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Hello! Is it really Sunday already? Very upsetting.

It’s been a fun weekend though! Well minus James spilling half a beer in my lap while we were at a bar….but that’s another story.

Today has been productive and included the weekly trip to the grocery stores. I always like seeing what people pick up on their weekly trips so I thought I’d share.

Trader Joe’s:

 IMG_1241

(Ignore the bottle of 7 Deadly Zins wine in the background…that’s not from TJ’s…good wine though!)

IMG_1243 

  • frozen shrimp (5.99)
  • celery hearts ($1.79)
  • Eggs ($2.79)
  • spaghetti squash ($3.21)

 

IMG_1245

  • marinara sauce (1.79)
  • 2 cans chunk white tuna ($1.49 ea.)
  • roasted veggie + black bean burritos (it doesn’t look like we were charged for this! oops…I just noticed that)
  • Liquid egg whites ($2.19)
  • roasted + salted peanuts ( 2.29)

IMG_1246

  • garbanzo beans (.79)
  • black beans ( .79)
  • cannellini beans (.89)
  • coffee ($6.49)

= $32.63

Harris Teeter

I go to Harris Teeter mostly for produce since Trader Joe’s doesn’t have a big produce section.

IMG_1247

  • 3 small zucchinis ($1.33)
  • 2 cucumbers (99 cents each)
  • Arnold’s whole wheat bread (on sale $1.99)

IMG_1250

  • 2 yellow onions ($1.55)
  • deli fresh oven roasted turkey slices (on sale 2/$7) 

IMG_1252

  • small head of cabbage (.95)
  • spinach ($1.99)

= $13.15

Not bad!

“Meat” Sauce and Pasta

For dinner tonight we were inspired by this which we got last week from Trader Joe’s:

IMG_1263

First we oven roasted some eggplant:

IMG_1253

Cooked at 400* for 20 minutes, flipping half way through

IMG_1267

Then the sauce! We sauteed half of an onion, half a green pepper, some mushrooms,  and 2 cloves of garlic. They were sauteed in a little Extra Virgin Olive Oil and some red wine (some of that 7 Deadly Zins wine from the picture above!)

IMG_1258

Then we added in a can of Hunt’s Fire Roasted Diced tomatoes and one of the soy chorizos.

IMG_1261

James had his over some penne pasta:

IMG_1269

I had mine over some broccoli + frozen veggie medley (a hodge podge mix from Trader Joe’s – best mix ever)

IMG_1275

It was a little spicy for my taste but I still enjoyed it! I love eggplant, especially oven roasted eggplant.

Well this is the end of my first week of training! It went well! I did my speedwork on a morning that it was really foggy and raining outside so I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything. Yesterday I did my 8 mile long run and it felt great! I ran while listening to a podcast of a Rilo Kiley concert (from the NPR show All Songs Consider). It was awesome! And the weather could not have been better.

On a side note….Toby is really sick 😦 He’s been nauseous since last night. We spent the night at one of James’ friends house last night and they all had ribs for dinner. It seems like Toby somehow got into the bones and ate some. (saw some of the bones in his puke..ew) We’re pretty worried. I think James is going to take him to the vet in the morning.  I hate seeing Toby sick. Hopefully it’s fine and none of the bones have caused any problems.

Enjoy the last bits of the weekend!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aw Toby 😦 It is hard to see your little ones sick 😦
    I didn’t like that soy chorizo, but the way you used it, I might have to give it another shot!

  2. I am the opposite of Andrea, I love that chorizo!

    I hope Toby feels better soon.

  3. Healing vibes to Toby!!

    I also love that chorizo!

  4. wow that is a beautiful plate of pasta!!! It looks SO tasty…especially with all the chunks of tomatoes and eggplants. Sure gives me inspiration for my next pasta meal! Thanks!!!

  5. I love eggplan in any form, but especially with pasta!

  6. […] the chili we we simmered some soy chorizo, kidney beans, carrots, tomato sauce, onions and broccoli. We also added in part of a packet of […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

