Oven Roasted Veggies

January 29, 2009 at 2:33 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Nothing too crazy for dinner tonight. But it was my first time trying parsnips which i liked! And I always love roasted veggies.

1 Zucchini, 2 parsnips and 1 sweet potato in 1 tsp. olive oil and S + P  before being put into a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes. IMG_1213

And after:

IMG_1217

 

I meant to take a picture of them in the pan but I forgot to. Ah well.

The parsnips were really good roasted. I liked that they were kind of mushy on the inside but the skin on the outside was still a little firm. And you can’t really go wrong with oven roasted sweet potatoes and zucchini.

When I got home from work I was STARVING so I had an appetizer of this:

IMG_1156

That’s a Trader Joes Veggie Flax chip with black bean and corn salsa. These chips are awesome by the way…and dangerous because I can easily go through half a bag.  We just bought a bag of Trader Joe’s Hemp chips..I’ll let you know how they measure up.

(Ignore the chipped nail polish…it has since been removed I promise…by the way that color is called “Breaking Curfew”.  haha Nail polishes have crazy names)

IMG_1161

Here’s the salsa:

IMG_1222

My Aunt from Arizona sent my folks a basket of like 8 salsas for Christmas so James and I got to take one home. Let me tell you…this stuff is good. It’s really thick and has a deep, rich flavor. It was definitely a contrast to the tomato salsas we usually have.

I thought I’d show you James’ dinner too since I haven’t seen him like something as much as this in a while:

IMG_1194

That is ground turkey mixed with leftover enchilada sauce with corn and TJ’s BBQ sauce on top.

IMG_1196 

I think his exact words after his first bites were “Holy hell this is good!” You know that’s a winner.

Score. Law & Order: SVU is on. Gotta go!

What’s the name of your favorite nail polish color?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Last time I got a pedicure, the color I got was called “Online Dating.” Soooo random.
    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  2. mmmmmm….roasted veggies.

    I don’t wear nail polish, for some reason I think it looks wierd on me but I always admire the girls who wear it. I really like the dark rich colors the most.

  3. […] Veggie Flax Chips […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

