Veggie Enchilada Casserole

January 27, 2009 at 1:16 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

I’m really digging layering things up in a pan and popping it in the oven. It’s just too easy to resist and all the flavors meld with each other in the oven. So far, I’ve had great success with it and this enchilada casserole was no exception.

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat wraps
  • Trader Joe’s refried black beans
  • McCormick Enchilada Packet
  • Tomato sauce
  • Spinach
  • Corn
  • Reduced fat shredded cheese (I used the Mexican blend from Harris Teeter)

I started with layering the bottom of a loaf pan with whole wheat tortillas. I cut them into strips thinking that would be better but I’m going to go ahead and say it was not the best idea. Because the next step is spreading the refried black beans on top..which was not easy with the strips. I need to do a little more forward thinking.

IMG_1123

So once I cursed the refried and black beans for a while, I got them all spread out on the pan. Then I put a layer of sautéed onions and veggies (a frozen medley I defrosted while sautéing the onions). Then I chopped up some fresh spinach. 

IMG_1125

And I thought I was done but corn just sounded like it would be a great addition so I sprinkled some of that in there as well (I’m sure you’re seeing this was a very cohesive and well thought out recipe)

IMG_1127

Then I poured some of the enchilada sauce on top (prepared according to the packet: spices + tomato sauce + water brought to a boil), another layer of whole wheat wraps, more enchilada sauce, and then some cheese. 

IMG_1128

I covered it with some tin foil, popped it into a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. Then I removed the foil and broiled it for another 5 minutes.

IMG_1132

When James was looking through my pictures he told me none of the pictures of my casserole made it look edible. And I’ll tell you why. I was just too excited to eat it and didn’t wait until it cooled off to cut into it and put it on my plate. Woops! This made for some less than stellar blog photos. But let me tell you, it was good.

IMG_1141

 

I’m still trying to get used to working full time + running + making dinner and making sure the apartment doesn’t look like a tornado swept through it (which it kinda looks like right now).  I know that it just takes getting used to and tons of people do it.

At least James has the next 2 days off so he can make dinner…. Right dear?? 😉

On the agenda tonight:

  • Make hummus
  • Clean kitchen
  • Make lunch
  • Get oatmeal assembled for breakfast
  • Figure out tomorrow’s outfit
4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I saw your question on my blog. I’m running the half. I am doing the Hal Higdon Novice marathon training plan and on week 3.

    Do you live in the Atlanta area?

  2. Looks good! I made tacos tonight myself 🙂
    So what’s the new job?

  3. I hear ya! I feel like I am always running around doing 20 million things! I love the refried black beans- SO much better than the traditional pinto! Have a good one. 😉

  4. […] produce stand at HT so I was thinking burritos! Then James suggested we make a casserole like this one. We went a little crazy with everything we put in it […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

