Farmers Market & Loving the Mini

January 19, 2009 at 2:10 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

Mini pizzas that is.

While James was on a business trip I had to get back to my roots of meals for one! One of my favorites is making mini pizzas, I used to make them on English muffins but then I FINALLY found these at our Harris Teeter:

 

IMG_0885

 

ARNOLD SANDWICH THINS!

I saw these out in the blogworld AGES ago and had been dying to try them.  So I took these puppies out for a little test drive.

For the marinara part I used some of this:

IMG_0884 

This was actually really good. It had been sitting in our cupboards for ages (well James’ cupboard and when we moved here it came along). It had a great blend of seasonings and it’s organic to boot!

For the cheese I used part skim Harris Teeter brand shredded cheddar cheese. I also sautéed some onions, spinach and carrots in some water until they were soft/wilted and put it on top of the cheese. I put them in a 350* oven for about 10 minutes (until cheese was melty) then broiled it for another 3-5 minutes and topped it with some crumbled goat cheese.

IMG_0891

IMG_0892

I ate these with a fork. I liked the sandwich thins better than the English muffins since they’re softer. I had a coupon for them at Lowes Food for $1.89 which is an awesome price for a packaged item like this. I’m not sure I’d buy them regularly for $3 when I can get a loaf of whole wheat bread for less than $2.

Paying attention to coupons and specials lets me still indulge in things I normally wouldn’t for price reasons…I just have to be keep my eye out and put in a little extra time now and then.

I spent some time yesterday and today doing some menu planning for the week. It was fun to look through cookbooks and magazines to come up with recipes and now we have a more comprehensive grocery list going to the store tomorrow! Hopefully this will help us keep to our supermarket budget. I’ll let you know how it goes. 

Farmers Market

We went to the farmers market today which was a little disappointing..it was pretty cold out so there weren’t many vendors there. No one there had my fave cameo apples 😦 Luckily I still have a couple left…

The loot:

 IMG_1060

4 Sweet Potatoes

IMG_1063

Lots of onions

IMG_1066

2 cucumbers (2 for $1)

IMG_1068

1 Zucchini

= $5.17

And I also splurged a little and got this:

 IMG_1050

Pumpkin butter!! (please excuse the unattractive line down the front label…a little bit of pumpkin butter escaped in my excitement to do a taste test)

This stuff is awesome!! It tastes like pumpkin pie filling in spreadable form. I can really taste the cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. I’ve always been a big apple butter fan (in fact it was the first thing I made in the Crockpot I got for Christmas) so when my friend suggested I try pumpkin butter, it just sounded too good to resist. And, oh, it is.

 IMG_1073

I will definitely have to learn how to make this stuff.

Anyone have a good recipe for making pumpkin butter from a can of pureed pumpkin?

I used the zucchini we got today to make these awesome Chocolate Zucchini muffins from Happy Herbivore. They were really really good. Basically everything I could wish for…chocolatey, cakey, virtually fat free and made with wholesome ingredients.  James has already eaten three… make that four.

 IMG_1054

I heated mine up in the microwave for 30 seconds and topped it with some ice cream.

Now that’s a happy ending. 🙂

Whenever I can I try to buy local and to support small farmers and businesses. Not only do you get fresh and delicious produce at a reasonable price but you’re also contributing to your community. Does anyone else have a great farmers market or place to get local produce near them?

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. your mini pizzas look so awesome — gourmet even! & I’m thrilled you liked the muffins 🙂

  2. speedwork is really easy and it really helped me increase my running preformance, so i DO recommend you try to do one day a week. 8×400 basically means 8 sprints of 0.25 mile. i run normally at a pace of about 9:30 a mile, so i shoot for 8-minute mile or 8:30-minute mile sprints and do a recovery of 1 minute at 10-minute mile pace. its easiest to do on a treadmill, but if you have a stopwatch, you can do “Fartlek” runs, which is when you pick of a landmark (like a tree or a intersection) and sprint towards that.

    give it a try!! a 8×400 workout is only like 2.5 mile with recovery, and its really short and fast. and fun!

  3. I finally found those too. Good idea using them as a pizza dough. I’ll have to try that. I thought they were a little thin for sandwiches.

  4. […] I set to work on some sweet tater fries. I chopped up two of the gems that we got from the farmers market on […]

  5. Wow, we have similar grocery shops! I also bought the Arnold’s sandwich thins, and while I didn’t find pumpkin butter, I DID buy some pumpkin & apple spice preserves!

  6. I have 2 zucchinis hanging out in my fridge.. I’m totally making this for the weekend!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

