Cold Outside, Warm on the Inside

January 16, 2009 at 10:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

When I heard yesterday about the cold front that was coming through last night, I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner: Pea Soup! It’s pretty much a staple for us because it’s so easy, inexpensive and most important sooo good!!! Pea soup has always been my favorite kind of soup. It leaves me feeling warm and satisfied.

Pea Soup

  • 1 bag dried split peas
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 14.5 oz. cans of chicken broth (or veggie broth to make it vegan/vegetarian)

1. Rinse the dried split peas

IMG_1006

Why is rinsing important? Because of this:

IMG_1023

Stones and debris?? No thank you!

2. Chop carrots

IMG_1008

3. Put everything in a medium large pot.

I only had one can of chicken broth so I used some Better Than Bouillion that James’ mom had gotten for us when she visited us and James had her make her famous chicken soup.

IMG_1015 IMG_1020

I just refilled the can of chicken broth with water, dumped it into the pot and then added a little less than 2 tsp. of the Better Than Bouillion. It’s pretty great. We got it when it was on sale close to Thanksgiving I think for $3.99 and it makes a ton of chicken broth.

4. Bring everything to a boil and then lower heat and simmer for 1-2 hours.

IMG_1025 

I think I found this on Allrecipes.com. It gets thicker as it cools.

IMG_1027

IMG_1029

I like to put some extra pepper on top plus some Texas Pete hot sauce! Yum!

In other cool news, look at the awesome coffee table we found on Craigslist.org for $35!!!

IMG_1039

We were amazingly lucky because when James and I were moving in together, James’ mom was moving to a smaller house so we got all of the old furniture that she couldn’t fit in her new home! It’s so incredible when things work out well like that. All of the furniture we got is also made of cherry wood with Queen Anne feet so we were really pumped to find a coffee table that matches.

We also found our washer/dryer on Craigslist for a steal. The only thing wrong with them is that the dryer’s timer doesn’t work. We’ve really found that hunting around for deals can pay off pretty big!!

I’m not going to lie, I’m a little apprehensive about going out tonight since the low is in the single digits! Brrr!! I will definitely be bundling up!

To end, I thought I would share what a hard life Toby has:

IMG_1003IMG_1032

Yea that’s Toby’s personal pillow…which he is trying to fit his entire body on instead of lying on his bed which is right next to him. He really likes pillows as you can see in the pictures on The Toby Story page. I’ve definitely woken up a number of times to him hovering above my head stretched out over my pillows. And every morning he climbs in bed between James and I, puts his head on the pillows and his body under the blankets. He hasn’t gotten the memo yet that he’s not a people.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love better than boullion. I use the mushroom one since I don’t eat meat but it makes great stock anytime you need it!

  2. Congrats on the job (and the Craigslist finds)! Pasta is always a good weeknight meal, and there are so many different things you can do with it. You can also make a big crazy salad and have it with soup. I have black a good black bean burger recipe (I’ll email it to you) and you could make the mix on the weekend and then just put it in the pan on whatever night you choose to make it.

  3. Soup looks great – so warm and filling I bet. Perfect meal for a cold winter day. Toby – adorable. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

