Black Bean + Corn Salad

January 16, 2009 at 3:46 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I am starting a new full time job on Monday which means coming up the easy dishes that can be taken for lunch. It’s great to make a large batch of something at the beginning of the week so you don’t have to spend a long time making lunches every night.

When we were passing by the salad bar at the grocery one day, James pointed out the black bean and corn salad and said that he wanted us to make that. Last night I raided our cupboards and found that we had everything we needed to make a quick bean salad.

Black Bean + Corn Salad

  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 3/4 can corn, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1/2 cucumber, cut up
  • 1/4 onion diced
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed and minced
  • 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 T. spicy mustard
  • Salt + Pepper

IMG_0990 IMG_0992

The directions are pretty simple:

1. Mix together the balsamic and mustard in a small bowl

2. Combine all other ingredients in a medium size bowl

3. Pour balsamic mixture over bean and corn salad

4. Mix well.

Easy right? And feel free to play around with the proportions to fit your taste.

IMG_0980 IMG_0985

Ya like that little piece of kale for garnish? Just for you guys. I put some fresh ground pepper on the top of it too.

You can eat this plain with a spoon, put it on a chip, top some eggs with it…the possibilities are endless!

Since we moved a month or so ago, I have had the hardest time finding a job. No one wants to hire me since I am going to be starting law school in the fall and I just can’t hide from them that that’s what I’m doing. They all ask what I’ll be doing in 5 years or what my career aspirations are and I can’t lie. Plus, I wouldn’t want to start working for a place and have them feel deceived when I leave in August. But good news! I have a temp job the next couple months so yay for that!

Now that James and I will both be working full time, we’re definitely going to need to do some meal planning this week. What is your favorite week night meal?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We are typically very busy on the weeknights so I do alot of food prep on the weekends. I premake casseroles that just need to be popped in the oven or easy sandwiches.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

