Savory Pancakes

January 15, 2009 at 3:51 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I grew up loving potato pancakes and would look forward to the holiday season so we could break out the frozen latkes and apple sauce. Now that I am more conscious of health and what I’m putting in my body, I’ve discovered alternatives to the oily white starch that I can happily eat all year long. (Of course I still enjoyed some latkes last month during Hanukah 😉 )

Tonight, I made a healthier but equally delicious version of the potato pancake. I knew that I wanted to make these when I saw that zucchini was on sale at Harris Teeter. Nothing like letting sales inspire you!

Zucchini Pancakes (based on this recipe from Green Lite Bites)

  • 2 cups shredded zucchini (you can also do a mixture of zucchini and squash)
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg (or equivalent egg substitute)
  • 1/2 onion chopped small
  • salt & pepper to taste

Pat the shredded zucchini dry with either a paper towel or kitchen towel to get some of the moisture out. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until blended.

 

IMG_0951

The mixture will seem pretty moist. Heat a pan up to medium high heat and spray with cooking spray. Make the pancakes as big or as small as you want. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make my pancakes. Spoon the mixture onto the pan and press with bottom of measuring cup to flatten it out into a pancake.

IMG_0955

IMG_0959

I think I left them on the stove for only about 2 minutes before I flipped em.

IMG_0968

IMG_0972

Serve with ketchup and enjoy! This yielded about 10 pancakes.

The onion in here really makes it in my opinion. You could probably add more seasonings if you wanted a different taste. Adding some fresh garlic to this would probably be great.

These were really great and filling. We enjoyed them while we watched some episodes of West Wing we got from Netflix today. Love that show!!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

