Fresh Flowers Made My Morning

January 15, 2009 at 4:43 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Good morning!

IMG_0930

I’m a big fan of nice easy mornings. Sometimes it’s worth it to push my run until later in order to have a relaxing, slow breakfast.

I’m also a big proponent of having fresh flowers. They just really brighten up my day and help with the winter blues. Here are some tips for buying flowers and also on how to make them last longer:

The key to buying flowers :

  • Count the number of buds. Typically a bouquet has about 8 buds…this one had 11!!!
  • Granted when I bought them none were open but look at them now! So beautiful! And I think it’s fun to watch them slowly open. Going to bed with them semi-open and waking up to this is a gift. 
  • This bouquet was about $4 from Lowes food. I’ve had them for about 6 days now and there are still 5 unopened buds! TOTALLY worth it!!

How to keep flowers fresh longer:

  1. When you first get them, immediately cut about an inch of the ends with the scissors at a slight angle
  2. Fill a vase with warm water (NOT hot)
  3. Empty half of the powder package that comes with the flowers into the vase (save the other half)
  4. After a few days (or sooner if necessary) cut the flowers another inch at an angle, put clean warm water into the vase and empty the other half of the powder packet into the vase
  5. Continue to cut and replace water every few days to keep them lasting longer and remove any wilty flowers from the bouquet

I was lucky enough to have James make a lovely breakfast this morning. He’s the egg master in the casa. I’ve asked him to do a video on how to cook the perfect so stay tuned! I know one of his secrets is using this flexible spatula thing (very technical I know)

IMG_0976

On the side: leftover tofu from a stir-fry we made a couple nights ago (I’ll post about that soon!) and also a bean +corn salad I made last night which I will also make a post about! Ya like that little teaser thrown in??

IMG_0977

(Excuse the rolled up place mat..It did not agree with going into the dryer..woops)

Also some Pillsbury biscuits. I had a coupon for them which was then doubled so they were practically free. They do have 1.5g of transfats in every 100 cal biscuit. Sigh. Can’t everyone just ex-nay on all the bad stuff in food? Please?

IMG_0979

Having a candle with meals just makes things a little more special. Candles can be reeeally expensive though…and there’s no way I’m spending 20 bucks on perfumed wax. We found these little glass candles that smell pretty good for 99 cents at Walgreens. We also keep our eye out for sales on candles (especially seasonal candles).

Any suggestions for some good trans fat free biscuits? James is a HUGE biscuit fan…particularly biscuits and gravy. Living in West Asheville, he went to this place called Tastee Diner (we loooove diners) practically every morning for biscuits and gravy. The women who worked there knew exactly what he wanted the second he walked in!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi! I just found your blog and look forward to reading more!

    I would be that a place like Whole Foods or a similar store would have trans fat free buscuits.

  2. Biscuits are really easy to make yourself. If you’d like a recipe to try email me (hangrypants@gmail.com).

    Love the gorgeous flowers, too!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

