You Can Never Add Too Many Veggies

January 13, 2009 at 3:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

That’s what James told me last night when I explained all the changes I made to a recipe I found in the February issue of Shape.

Cauliflower Macaroni and Cheese (modified from recipe in February 2009 Shape issue)

  • 1 small head cauliflower, cut into 1 inch florets
  • 1 cup broccoli florets
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cups whole wheat rotini pasta (or shape of your choice..they called for macaroni but we had rotini on hand)
  • 2 cups nonfat milk
  • 2 T. unsalted butter
  • 2 T. WW flour
  • 2 slices of swiss cheese + 2 slices cheddar cheese torn up (they called for 3/4 cup shredded gruyere cheese but sliced cheese was on sale at Harris Teeter, buy 1 get 2 free)
  • Salt + Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425*. Bring a pot of water to a boil and cook cauliflower, broccoli for 2 minutes. Remove and plunge in ice water (not sure if this is necessary…I did it though). Keep water boiling and cook carrots and then macaroni until it is al dente, drain and set aside.

 IMG_0913

In a medium size pot over medium heat, bring milk to a simmer. In a medium heavy saucepan, melt butter over low heat. Mix in flour and cook for 2 minutes. Wisk flour mixture into milk and cook for 10 minutes more. Add 3/4 of the cheese and continue to wisk until melted. Add salt and pepper to taste.

 IMG_0914 IMG_0915

Spread macaroni, cauliflower, carrots and broccoli evenly in a 12×10 inch ovenproof dish (I put some tinfoil in the pan for easy cleanup). Pour sauce over both, and sprinkle remaining cheese. Bake for 20 minutes.

IMG_0919 IMG_0918

It was good! James gave it two thumbs up as well. He even happily took the leftovers for lunch today! That’s when I know it’s a success.

My only complaint: TOO MANY POTS! I am definitely a one pot meal kind of girl. For this one I used 4. Not cool. Of course if I didn’t do the ice bath I could probably use 3 but still…that’s a lot of scrubbing.

I put some marinara sauce on my piece …only because I’m obsessed. James had his plain (I put more cheese and pasta on his side of the pan):

IMG_0923

Full of veggie goodness. I’m not a huge fan of pasta dishes unless the amount of veggies slightly outweighs the amount of pasta. Having the little bit of whole wheat pasta was really satisfying. We went to bed without a thought about dessert.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Yay, thanks for sharing! I like the idea, but you’re right way to many pots! I may rework this to fit my own needs. 🙂

  2. tasty! I agree too about the veggie pasta ratio!

  3. WOW! This recipe sounds awesome. Book marking it. I’m all for more veggie than pasta

  4. Made this tonight- AWESOME!! Posting about it!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

