Granola + Yogurt Review

January 6, 2009 at 11:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

It wasn’t until I started reading various food blogs that I found out about Greek yogurt. After trying it once, I was hooked. Thick, rich, creamy with a bit of tang to it, the perfect accompaniment to the bananas, cereal and peanut butter creations I love to make.

Of course, on a tight budget, Greek yogurt just isn’t going to make the cut to be a staple in our fridge. So you can imagine my delight when J arrived home from Christmas with 4 Chobanis from his Mom’s house.

I had never had Chobani and had seen mixed reviews regarding them. My first time trying it, I had the peach flavor and paired it with Trader Joe’s Lowfat Granola with Almonds (another recent find):                                                       

IMG_0874

There are also some banana slices and a scoop of peanut butter hidden under there!

                                       IMG_0866

Chobani: I liked it! It wasn’t as thick as some other Greek yogurt I’ve had, but I still enjoyed it. I think that regularly I would rather have plain Greek yogurt, but the flavored ones are a nice treat. There wasn’t an overwhelming amount of peaches at the bottom and it wasn’t that gross goo that you can find with some of those”fruit on the bottom” yogurts. It all mixed together nicely and I liked that there was room in the container for me to add toppings and mix it around without things falling out all over the place. And who can beat the awesome stats of getting 14g of protein in 140 tiny calories?? I know my leg muscles are thanking me for that!

                                                   IMG_0872

Trader Joe’s Lowfat Granola: Also good…but just a little too sweet for me. Using a little bit, though, and mixing it in goes nicely with yogurt. It’s crispy and has a nice amount of clumps and flakes. Like all other Trader Joe products, it has a nice and short list of whole ingredients, which always makes me feel good about eating it. A 3/4 c. serving has 210 calories,  3g of fat, 5g of fiber and 4g of protein. Not bad for granola! It was also very reasonably priced  (I think $2.50?).

Two good products that I hope to find in my future of munching and crunching.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh I love expensive yogurts! I told you that there’s a line made from coconut milk, right? So good but at $1.99 each (regular soy yogurt is $0.99 each) it’s a special treat.

  2. I think I’ve pretty much convinced Dan to move to NC — I told you there’s an IBM in Raleigh, right? Either way, Mom already decided we’re all going to live up there . . . that’s what happens when he misses Thanksgiving dinner: important decisions get made without him!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

