A little fresh, a little prepared

January 6, 2009 at 11:17 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Sometimes it’s nice to have the option of a quick meal without a lot of fuss. One way to get this is to use some prepared food and some fresh foods. One ingredient that I love cooking with is winter squash. They’re so great for you, easy to prepare and satisfying. (They’re also perfect for 2 people since each one can get a half!)

There was an acorn squash sitting in my pantry that I knew should be eaten soon. First, I preheated the oven to 400 and then sliced the acorn squash in half:

 

IMG_0845

 

Now just grab a spoon and scoop out all the seeds. If you want you can roast the seeds in these (rinse all the stringy goo off first) with a little salt and pepper. They actually taste a lot like pumpkin seeds!

Then I rubbed a little bit of butter (you don’t need a whole lot..maybe a half a teaspoon?) and sprinkled some salt and pepper on top. I put it face down on a cookie sheet lined with tinfoil (easy clean-up! since J is out of town, I just used the tinfoil to wrap up the half I didn’t eat).  Then just pop it in the oven for 40 minutes.

IMG_0855

Recap: 400* oven for 40 minutes

I also put a big clove of garlic under each one of these halves. I just smashed the garlic once with the side of my knife to open it up a little. I think baking it underneath the squash adds a nice subtle flavor. Plus, you get two cloves of roasted garlic which are delicious, especially spread on some crusty bread.

For the filling, I decided to saute some onion, a carrot and some spinach. Once that was all soft and cooked I added a little bit of this to the pan:

 

IMG_0881

This was on sale at Harris Teeter so I splurged a little and got it. It says on the box that it’s “Braised eggplant with aromatic Indian spices“. I was really impressed with the short ingredient list (see below). AND its vegan, gluten free, contains no MSG or preservatives!! That’s good stuff right there. The website also says it stays fresh for 18 months. Nuts.

The nutritionals aren’t too shabby either:

I added about half the packet to the onion, spinach, carrot mixture while it was still in the pan so it would warm through. Definitely needed the added veggies to give it some texture..otherwise it was like putting a half cup of hummus in the middle. It WAS a little spicy

for me though (but I’m a wimp when it comes to spice…I’m working on it) so I added a spoonful of pumpkin to the mix to dial down the spice factor.  Overall, I think it’s a good product and I would definitely be interested in trying others!

All together:

IMG_0859

Okay not beautiful…but it was good! I added some shredded cheese on top of it post picture which was a great addition. And the squash was roasted the perfect amount I think…it was really soft and almost buttery tasting. Delish!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sounds yummy!!! Maybe Dan and I will make it next weekend, since it’s perfect for 2!!!

  2. I’ve mixed those Indian food packets with couscous and stuffed it in a squash – it’s just another way to bulk up a meal and make it go farther. I LOVE the idea of putting a clove of garlic underneath the squash when you cook it – genius!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

