Eggs Wonderful Eggs

January 4, 2009 at 11:35 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

 

I rediscovered my love for eggs this past summer. They are so delicious and versatile and full of protein.  And when paired with colorful vegetables they can be turned into a beautiful, classy looking meal. What more could a girl want?

Last summer, I made a crustless quiche for brunch one beautiful morning using a recipe I found from allrecipes.com.

IMG_0379

Ingredients

  • 1 small onion
  • 1 package (10 oz.) frozen chopped spinach (better deal then getting fresh spinach due to the cooking down factor)
  • 5 eggs, beaten
  • about half a package of chopped mushrooms
  • about 1 cup shredded muenster cheese (I just tore up some sliced cheese)
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat a 9 inch pie pan with cooking spray. Saute onion as you wish (I use chicken broth or water).  Add the frozen spinach and saute until excess moisture has evaporated.

In a large bowl, combine eggs, cheese, salt and pepper. Add spinach and onion mixture.  Pour into pie pan.  Arrange sliced tomatoes decoratively on top.

Bake in preheated oven until eggs have set, about 30 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

IMG_0380

I served it with some turkey bacon and a bowl of fresh strawberries and blueberries.

Sigh these pictures make me yearn for some summer sun!!

Today was a dreary day but tomorrow is supposed to be sunny so I am getting up early for a 6 mile run with Toby. I know he’s looking forward to it as much as I am!

IMG_0384

These past 3 days of ellipticizing in the gym has been a nice change from running but I’m ready to get back out there.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.