Stove Top Biscuits + POM Iced Coffee

September 27, 2009 at 3:33 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 15 Comments

 

We’re low on groceries right now so this morning I went scavenging through our pantry trying to come up with something to make.  I remembered seeing these stove top biscuits and they idea had totally intrigued me. For a slow Sunday morning, making four drop biscuits on the stove is so much more appealing then heating up an oven and making a dozen biscuits.

I was so pleased with how these turned out! A little crunchy on the outside and warm and soft on the inside. Since they are all whole wheat they also have that hearty texture that I love.

IMG_3407

Topped with some of James’ mom’s homemade jelly. We were happy campers. Not too shabby for having an empty fridge!!

IMG_3409

A little while back POM asked if I’d like to sample their iced coffee. Since I love all things coffee I happily said yes and was pumped when the package arrived.

IMG_3405

Not to worry, folks, this does NOT have pomegranate in them!! Something that was made clear to me from the start :) What makes this iced coffee special is that fact that it’s made with POMx: “a potent antioxidant rich extract from POM Wonderful pomegranates”. The coffee is made from Rainforest Alliance Certified shade-grown Arabica coffee beans and contains hormone-free milk, and organic cane sugar. It also has no preservatives.

Chocolate – The chocolate flavor has 190 cals, no fat, 30 g of sugar (yikes!) , 10 g of protein, and 175 mg of caffeine. The flavor was pretty good – it was a little too sweet for me though and didn’t have any kind of coffee flavor. It tasted like chocolate milk, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing since I do enjoy chocolate milk but I was disappointed that there wasn’t more of a coffee flavor.

Cafe au Lait -This has 170 kcals, 3g of fat, 7g of protein, 20 g of sugar, and 175 mg of caffeine. This one wasn’t as sweet and had a subtle coffee flavor. James tasted it and said it was pretty good! I liked this one better.

Overall, these definitely gave me a jolt of caffeine without making me jittery and it felt like I was getting a treat. I would compare them to getting a flavored iced latte from Starbucks. I’m not sure how much these are in the stores but I could see myself getting one from a gas station if I needed a pick me up on a road trip or something. I would definitely opt for one of these over an energy drink or one of those starbucks frappaccino drinks you can get at the store since these have more natural ingredients.  I’m glad I got to try them. Thanks again, POM!

Toby got a treat this week too. I know people like putting their oats in almost-empty jars of peanut butter, but I know someone else who enjoys them too much for that:

IMG_3396

A pup after my own heart.

After posing for a picture (which took every ounce of his self control) he got to work:

IMG_3401 IMG_3402

I usually cut the jar in half when he’s almost done so he can get the bottom. ;)

Outlining and more reading are on the agenda for the rest of today. I have all the windows open and a nice breeze flowing through the apartment. I love you Fall!

Have a happy Sunday :)

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Haha, love the Toby pictures.

  2. What a sweetie, Toby is! I agree…while I love my oatmeal and all, giving a dog PB is way more fun! :)

  3. I’m so glad you liked the recipe!!

    Toby is so cute :)

  4. OMG – my heart just melts when I see that face! GOOD BOY TOBY! Way to use that self control while mommy takes pictures for the blog! :)

  5. lol aw… that is adorable!

  6. Toby! I just want to scratch his ears and give HIM kisses! My Basil is much smaller than Toby, so I just give him yogurt cups :) I think his head would get stuck in a jar of nut butter!

  7. OMG – what an awesome idea! why have I been depriving Oscar for so long?? I am definitely doing this the next empty jar…

  8. Hope law school is going well!! =)

  9. Aww! I love give my dog the empty jar of peanut butter. I never thought of cutting the jar in half though. I usually just take it away and get a sad look from her.

  10. hi! just wanted to let you know i emailed you an evite for a local blogger gathering in durham! we are going to meet at six plates wine bar for some wine, apps, and conversation :) hope you can make it!

  11. ps: and feel free to spread the word!

  12. Just found your blog from GreenDogWine! What a great blog and I love the Toby story.

  13. Aww so cute! And I’m not just talking about the iced coffees, hehe.

  14. Mmm I love iced coffee :) I haven’t tried the POM version yet, but it sounds pretty good.

  15. your dog is too cute!!! i have been thinking about biscuits a lot lately….


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

