Productive Sunday

April 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Well today has been so productive already and it’s only the early afternoon! I love that. James didn’t have to go into work until noon today so we took the opportunity to go to Trader Joes to get our weekly grocery shopping out of the way!

Then, once James was off to work, Toby and I ventured over to get my oil changed (which came with a free tire rotation!). While I waited the 30 minutes to get my oil changed, Toby and I went for a walk and I read more of my book, The Glass Castle. I like using little opportunities like a 30 minute wait to get some more movement into my day. Plus Toby appreciated the exercise. We’re not the only ones that need daily exercise!

Then I came home and made some Kalamata Garlic Hummus! So simple. Just a can of chick peas, a clove of garlic and 5-6 kalamata olives in oil.

IMG_2240

IMG_2242

And I put my yummy mixture into a re-purposed container from some store bought hummus. Aren’t you proud Pretty Green Girl?

IMG_2244

Don’t be confused. It’s not Moroccan Hummus. Although that Moroccan hummus was delicious…

And next on my agenda was to make a little treat for my padre since his birthday is coming up! (Don’t worry..he doesn’t read the blog! Still isn’t a big fan of computers ;) )

Poor padre is allergic to chocolate! So I decided to look toward the baking guru, Veggie Girl, to make him some of her infamous blondies!

What’s so great about these blondies, is they are basically a blank slate waiting for you to make them your own. To mine, I added some cinnamon and almonds.

And some chocolate chips in one corner for James since I knew I wouldn’t be able to send all of these to my dad.

IMG_2245

YUM!

IMG_2256

And putting it on wax paper to bake made it SO much easier to take out. James loved these. Hopefully my dad does too :)

 

Okay now a little cuteness factor:

IMG_2214

He was laying in bed when James was trying to make the bed so he was just made up in it. We thought this would make him want to get out. But nope. He was quite comfy.

IMG_2213

James and I have a “date” later to do a deep clean on the apartment. Actually cleaning sucks but afterward it feels SO nice to be in a clean apartment! So that’s something to look forward to :)

My goal this week is to make some kale smoothies!! My energy level has been lagging and I’m hoping that those will give me an extra punch that other bloggers have experienced.

What’s your goal this week?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My goodness that hummus looks super delicious and like something you would find in a specialty food store that would be super pricey!!

    The pic of the puppy in the blankets made my day :)

  2. My goal this week is to make it through 3 exams without going crazy!!!!

  3. I’m excited to be going to a wedding on Saturday!

  4. I am so proud – go you! Yay for repurposing! :) I need to make my own hummus – yum!

    Allergic to chocolate – man, that’s rough! You’re so sweet to bake for him!

    My goal this week is to cut back on extra sugar and extra snacks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

